Cantitate/Preț
Produs

How We Learn: Throw Out the Rule Book and Unlock Your Brain's Potential (Bestsellers Dezvoltare personală)

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Paperback – 04 Jun 2015

In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today—and how we can apply it to our own lives. From an early age, it is drilled into our heads: Restlessness, distraction, and ignorance are the enemies of success. We’re told that learning is all self-discipline, that we must confine ourselves to designated study areas, turn off the music, and maintain a strict ritual if we want to ace that test, memorize that presentation, or nail that piano recital. But what if almost everything we were told about learning is wrong? And what if there was a way to achieve more with less effort? In How We Learn, award-winning science reporter Benedict Carey sifts through decades of education research and landmark studies to uncover the truth about how our brains absorb and retain information. What he discovers is that, from the moment we are born, we are all learning quickly, efficiently, and automatically; but in our zeal to systematize the process we have ignored valuable, naturally enjoyable learning tools like forgetting, sleeping, and daydreaming. Is a dedicated desk in a quiet room really the best way to study? Can altering your routine improve your recall? Are there times when distraction is good? Is repetition necessary? Carey’s search for answers to these questions yields a wealth of strategies that make learning more a part of our everyday lives—and less of a chore. By road testing many of the counterintuitive techniques described in this book, Carey shows how we can flex the neural muscles that make deep learning possible. Along the way he reveals why teachers should give final exams on the first day of class, why it’s wise to interleave subjects and concepts when learning any new skill, and when it’s smarter to stay up late prepping for that presentation than to rise early for one last cram session. And if this requires some suspension of disbelief, that’s because the research defies what we’ve been told, throughout our lives, about how best to learn. The brain is not like a muscle, at least not in any straightforward sense. It is something else altogether, sensitive to mood, to timing, to circadian rhythms, as well as to location and environment. It doesn’t take orders well, to put it mildly. If the brain is a learning machine, then it is an eccentric one. In How We Learn, Benedict Carey shows us how to exploit its quirks to our advantage.

Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Carte Paperback (2) 4173 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1566 lei  4-8 zile
  Pan Macmillan – 04 Jun 2015 4173 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1566 lei  4-8 zile
  Random House Trade – 09 Jun 2015 8623 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +665 lei  10-17 zile
Carte Hardback (1) 16304 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1291 lei  10-17 zile
  Random House – 09 Sep 2014 16304 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1291 lei  10-17 zile

Din seria Bestsellers Dezvoltare personală

Preț: 4173 lei

Preț vechi: 5390 lei
-23%

Puncte Express: 63

Preț estimativ în valută:
835 939$ 723£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 07-21 mai
Livrare express 27 aprilie-01 mai pentru 2565 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9781447286349
ISBN-10: 1447286340
Pagini: 256
Dimensiuni: 130 x 195 x 20 mm
Greutate: 0.20 kg
Editura: Pan Macmillan
Colecția Macmillan
Seria Bestsellers Dezvoltare personală


Notă biografică

Benedict Carey has been an award-winning science reporter at the New York Times since 2004 and previously worked at the Los Angeles Times. His 2010 article on study habits was the most emailed New York Times piece ever in a single day.