Cantitate/Preț
Produs

The Complete MAUS

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Paperback – 02 Oct 2003

The Complete Maus by Art Spiegelman - the Pulitzer prize-winning Holocaust survivor story
'The most affecting and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust'
Wall Street Journal
'The first masterpiece in comic book history' The New Yorker
The Pulitzer Prize-winning Maus tells the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father's story. Maus approaches the unspeakable through the diminutive. Its form, the cartoon (the Nazis are cats, the Jews mice), shocks us out of any lingering sense of familiarity and succeeds in 'drawing us closer to the bleak heart of the Holocaust' (The New York Times).
Maus is a haunting tale within a tale. Vladek's harrowing story of survival is woven into the author's account of his tortured relationship with his aging father. Against the backdrop of guilt brought by survival, they stage a normal life of small arguments and unhappy visits. This astonishing retelling of our century's grisliest news is a story of survival, not only of Vladek but of the children who survive even the survivors. Maus studies the bloody pawprints of history and tracks its meaning for all of us.
This combined, definitive edition includes Maus I: A Survivor's Tale and Maus II.
Art Spiegelman is a contributing editor and artist for the New Yorker. His drawings and prints have been exhibited in museums and galleries around the world. He won the Pulitzer Prize for Maus, and a Guggenheim fellowship. It was also nominated for the National Book Critics Award. His other books include: Breakdowns: From Maus to Now, an Anthology of Strips; The Wild Party; Open Me, I'm A Dog; Jack Cole and Plastic Man: Forms Stretched to Their Limits; In the Shadow of No Towers; Breakdowns: Portrait of the Artist as a Young %@&*!; Be a Nose; Jack and the Box and MetaMaus. He lives in New York.

Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Carte Paperback (1) 9261 lei  Economic 15-26 zile +2280 lei  5-7 zile
  Penguin Books – 02 Oct 2003 9261 lei  Economic 15-26 zile +2280 lei  5-7 zile
Carte Hardback (1) 17237 lei  Economic 14-20 zile +1579 lei  5-7 zile
  Pantheon Books – 1997 17237 lei  Economic 14-20 zile +1579 lei  5-7 zile

Preț: 9261 lei

Preț vechi: 10347 lei
-10%

Puncte Express: 139

Preț estimativ în valută:
1854 2079$ 1607£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 10-21 mai
Livrare express 30 aprilie-02 mai pentru 3279 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9780141014081
ISBN-10: 0141014083
Pagini: 296
Ilustrații: illustrations
Dimensiuni: 164 x 231 x 17 mm
Greutate: 0.67 kg
Editura: Penguin Books
Colecția Penguin
Locul publicării: London, United Kingdom

Public țintă

Adult: General

Notă biografică

Art Spiegelman is a contributing editor and artist for the New Yorker. His drawings and prints have been exhibited in museums and galleries around the world. He won the Pulitzer Prize for Maus, which was also nominated for the National Book Critics Award. He lives in New York.


Recenzii

The first masterpiece in comic book history
One of the clichés about the Holocaust is that you can't imagine it - Spiegelman disproves this theory
A brutally moving work of art
In the tradition of Aesop and Orwell, it serves to shock and impart powerful resonance to a well-documented subject. The artwork is so accomplished, forceful and moving
Spiegelman has turned the exuberant fantasy of comics inside out by giving us the most incredible fantasy in comics' history: something that actually occurred. Maus is terrifying not for its brutality, but for its tenderness and guilt
An epic story told in tiny pictures
The most affecting and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust
Maus is a book that cannot be put down, truly, even to sleep...when you finish Maus, you are unhappy to have left that magical world and long for the sequel that will return you to it
A remarkable feat of documentary detail and novelistic vividness...an unfolding literary event
The Pulitzer Prize-winning Maus tells the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father's story. Maus approaches the unspeakable through the diminutive. Its form, the cartoon (the Nazis are cats, the Jews mice), shocks us out of any lingering sense of familiarity and succeeds in 'drawing us closer to the bleak heart of the Holocaust'
A quiet triumph, moving and simple - impossible to describe accurately, and impossible to achieve in any medium but comics
All too infrequently, a book comes along that' s as daring as it is acclaimed. Art Spiegelman's Maus is just such a book
A remarkable work, awesome in its conception and execution... at one and the same time a novel, a documentary, a memoir, and a comic book. Brilliant, just brilliant
Maus is a masterpiece, and it's in the nature of such things to generate mysteries, and pose more questions than they answer. But if the notion of a canon means anything, Maus is there at the heart of it. Like all great stories, it tells us more about ourselves than we could ever suspect
Spiegelman's Maus changed comics forever. Comics now can be about anything
Reading [his work] has been an amazing lesson in storytelling
It can be easy to forget how much of a game-changer Maus was.
It can be easy to forget how much of a game-changer Maus was.

Textul de pe ultima copertă

It is the story of Vladek Speigelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father's story. Maus approaches the unspeakable through the diminutive. Its form, the cartoon (the Nazis are cats, the Jews mice), shocks us out of any lingering sense of familiarity. Maus is a haunting tale within a tale. Vladek's harrowing story of survival is woven into the author's account of his tortured relationship with his aging father. Against the backdrop of guilt brought by survival, they stage a normal life of small arguments and unhappy visits. This astonishing retelling of our century's grisliest news is a story of survival, not only of Vladek but of the children who survive even the survivors. Maus studies the bloody pawprints of history and tracks its meaning for all of us.