Cantitate/Preț
Produs

The Complete MAUS: Recomandări cărți Ecommerce - Școala de vară GPeC 2019

Autor Art Spiegelman
en Limba Engleză Paperback – 2 oct 2003
The Complete Mausby Art Spiegelman-the Pulitzer prize-winning Holocaust survivor story
'The most affecting and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust'
Wall Street Journal
'The first masterpiece in comic book history'The New Yorker
The Pulitzer Prize-winningMaustells the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father's story.Mausapproaches the unspeakable through the diminutive. Its form, the cartoon (the Nazis are cats, the Jews mice), shocks us out of any lingering sense of familiarity and succeeds in 'drawing us closer to the bleak heart of the Holocaust' (The New York Times).
Mausis a haunting tale within a tale. Vladek's harrowing story of survival is woven into the author's account of his tortured relationship with his aging father. Against the backdrop of guilt brought by survival, they stage a normal life of small arguments and unhappy visits. This astonishing retelling of our century's grisliest news is a story of survival, not only of Vladek but of the children who survive even the survivors.Mausstudies the bloody pawprints of history and tracks its meaning for all of us.
This combined, definitive edition includesMaus I: A Survivor's TaleandMaus II.
Art Spiegelman is a contributing editor and artist for the New Yorker. His drawings and prints have been exhibited in museums and galleries around the world. He won the Pulitzer Prize for Maus, and a Guggenheim fellowship. It was also nominated for the National Book Critics Award. His other books include:Breakdowns: From Maus to Now, an Anthology of Strips; The Wild Party; Open Me, I'm A Dog; Jack Cole and Plastic Man: Forms Stretched to Their Limits; In the Shadow of No Towers; Breakdowns: Portrait of the Artist as a Young %@&*!; Be a Nose; Jackand the BoxandMetaMaus.He lives in New York.
Citește tot Restrânge

Toate formatele și edițiile

Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Paperback (1) 10408 lei  22-36 zile +2632 lei  5-11 zile
  Penguin Books – 2 oct 2003 10408 lei  22-36 zile +2632 lei  5-11 zile
Hardback (1) 19660 lei  22-36 zile +5437 lei  5-11 zile
  Pantheon Books – 1997 19660 lei  22-36 zile +5437 lei  5-11 zile

Din seria Recomandări cărți Ecommerce - Școala de vară GPeC 2019

Preț: 10408 lei

Puncte Express: 156

Preț estimativ în valută:
1994 2156$ 1707£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 25 martie-08 aprilie
Livrare express 08-14 martie pentru 3631 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9780141014081
ISBN-10: 0141014083
Pagini: 296
Ilustrații: illustrations
Dimensiuni: 164 x 231 x 17 mm
Greutate: 0.69 kg
Editura: Penguin Books
Colecția Penguin
Seria Recomandări cărți Ecommerce - Școala de vară GPeC 2019

Locul publicării:London, United Kingdom

Public țintă

Adult: General

Notă biografică

Art Spiegelman is a contributing editor and artist for the New Yorker. His drawings and prints have been exhibited in museums and galleries around the world. He won the Pulitzer Prize for Maus, which was also nominated for the National Book Critics Award. He lives in New York.


Recenzii

It can be easy to forget how much of a game-changerMauswas.
One of the clichés about the Holocaust is that you can't imagine it - Spiegelman disproves this theory
A brutally moving work of art
In the tradition of Aesop and Orwell, it serves to shock and impart powerful resonance to a well-documented subject. The artwork is so accomplished, forceful and moving
Spiegelman has turned the exuberant fantasy of comics inside out by giving us the most incredible fantasy in comics' history: something that actually occurred. Maus is terrifying not for its brutality, but for its tenderness and guilt
An epic story told in tiny pictures
The most affecting and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust
Mausis a book that cannot be put down, truly, even to sleep...when you finishMaus, you are unhappy to have left that magical world and long for the sequel that will return you to it
A remarkable feat of documentary detail and novelistic vividness...an unfolding literary event
The Pulitzer Prize-winningMaustells the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father's story. Maus approaches the unspeakable through the diminutive. Its form, the cartoon (the Nazis are cats, the Jews mice), shocks us out of any lingering sense of familiarity and succeeds in 'drawing us closer to the bleak heart of the Holocaust'
A quiet triumph, moving and simple - impossible to describe accurately, and impossible to achieve in any medium but comics
All too infrequently, a book comes along that' s as daring as it is acclaimed. Art Spiegelman'sMausis just such a book
A remarkable work, awesome in its conception and execution... at one and the same time a novel, a documentary, a memoir, and a comic book. Brilliant, just brilliant
Mausis a masterpiece, and it's in the nature of such things to generate mysteries, and pose more questions than they answer. But if the notion of a canon means anything,Mausis there at the heart of it. Like all great stories, it tells us more about ourselves than we could ever suspect
Spiegelman'sMauschanged comics forever. Comics now can be about anything
Reading [his work] has been an amazing lesson in storytelling
It can be easy to forget how much of a game-changerMauswas.

Descriere

The Complete Maus by Art Spiegelman - the Pulitzer prize-winning Holocaust survivor story
'The most affecting and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust'
Wall Street Journal
'The first masterpiece in comic book history' The New Yorker
The Pulitzer Prize-winning Maus tells the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father's story. Maus approaches the unspeakable through the diminutive. Its form, the cartoon (the Nazis are cats, the Jews mice), shocks us out of any lingering sense of familiarity and succeeds in 'drawing us closer to the bleak heart of the Holocaust' (The New York Times).
Maus is a haunting tale within a tale. Vladek's harrowing story of survival is woven into the author's account of his tortured relationship with his aging father. Against the backdrop of guilt brought by survival, they stage a normal life of small arguments and unhappy visits. This astonishing retelling of our century's grisliest news is a story of survival, not only of Vladek but of the children who survive even the survivors. Maus studies the bloody pawprints of history and tracks its meaning for all of us.
This combined, definitive edition includes Maus I: A Survivor's Tale and Maus II.
Art Spiegelman is a contributing editor and artist for the New Yorker. His drawings and prints have been exhibited in museums and galleries around the world. He won the Pulitzer Prize for Maus, and a Guggenheim fellowship. It was also nominated for the National Book Critics Award. His other books include: Breakdowns: From Maus to Now, an Anthology of Strips; The Wild Party; Open Me, I'm A Dog; Jack Cole and Plastic Man: Forms Stretched to Their Limits; In the Shadow of No Towers; Breakdowns: Portrait of the Artist as a Young %@&*!; Be a Nose; Jack and the Box and MetaMaus. He lives in New York.


Textul de pe ultima copertă

It is the story of Vladek Speigelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father's story. Maus approaches the unspeakable through the diminutive. Its form, the cartoon (the Nazis are cats, the Jews mice), shocks us out of any lingering sense of familiarity. Maus is a haunting tale within a tale. Vladek's harrowing story of survival is woven into the author's account of his tortured relationship with his aging father. Against the backdrop of guilt brought by survival, they stage a normal life of small arguments and unhappy visits. This astonishing retelling of our century's grisliest news is a story of survival, not only of Vladek but of the children who survive even the survivors. Maus studies the bloody pawprints of history and tracks its meaning for all of us.