The Return of Sherlock Holmes & His Last Bow: A Fairy Tale for a Land-Baby (Macmillan Collector's Library)

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Hardback – 11 Aug 2016

Designed to appeal to the book lover, the Macmillan Collector's Library is a series of beautifully bound pocket-sized gift editions of much loved classic titles. Bound in real cloth, printed on high quality paper, and featuring ribbon markers and gilt edges, Macmillan Collector's Library are books to love and treasure.

Ten years after the supposed death of Sherlock Holmes at the Reichenbach Falls, Arthur Conan Doyle was to bow to popular pressure and the large fees offered by publishers to revive the detective's career. To the astonishment of Dr Watson and the delight of his readers Holmes returns to Baker Street, explains how he escaped death at the Falls and is ready to commence detective work once more. Doyle provided a rich and fascinating set of mysteries to challenge his sleuth in this collection. As before, Watson is the superb narrator and his magic remains unchanged and undimmed. In His Last Bow, the final story of this collection, we are told how Sherlock Holmes is brought out of retirement to help the Government fight the German threat at the approach of the First World War. It is the last time that Holmes and Watson work together. As well as his witty and illuminating Afterword to this edition, David Stuart Davies, the illustrious editor of Sherlock magazine, has provided a fascinating chronology of the Sherlock Holmes Stories.

Stories in this edition:
The Return of Sherlock Holmes
1. The Empty House
2. The Norwood Builder
3. The Dancing Men
4. The Solitary Cyclist
5. The Priory School
6. Black Peter
7. Charles Augustus Milverton
8. The Six Napoleons
9. The Three Students
10. The Golden Pince-Nez
11. The Missing Three-Quarter
12. The Abbey Grange
13. The Second Stain

His Last Bow
14. Wisteria Lodge
15. The Cardboard Box
16. The Red Circle
17. The Bruce-Partington Plans
18. The Dying Detective
19. The Disappearance of Lady Frances Carfax
20. The Devil's Foot
21. His Last Bow

Citește tot Restrânge

Din seria Macmillan Collector's Library

Preț: 5230 lei

Preț vechi: 7656 lei

Puncte Express: 78

Preț estimativ în valută:
1011 1085$ 889£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 20-26 aprilie
Livrare express 01-07 aprilie pentru 4323 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76


ISBN-13: 9781909621770
ISBN-10: 1909621773
Pagini: 640
Dimensiuni: 93 x 150 x 57 mm
Greutate: 0.34 kg
Editura: Pan Macmillan
Seria Macmillan Collector's Library

Notă biografică

Arthur Conan Doyle was born in 1859. He trained to be a doctor at Edinburgh University and eventually set up a medical practice in Southsea. During the quiet periods between patients, he turned his hand to writing, producing historical novels such as Micah Clarke and adventure yarns including The Lost World, as well as four novels and fifty-six stories involving his most celebrated creations, Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson. Doyle was knighted in 1902. In later life he devoted much of his time to his belief in Spiritualism, using his writing and celebrity as a means of providing funds to support activities in this field. He died in 1930.


Chapter - 1: The Empty House Chapter - 2: The Norwood Builder Chapter - 3: The Dancing Men Chapter - 4: The Solitary Cyclist Chapter - 5: The Priory School Chapter - 6: Black Peter Chapter - 7: Charles Augustus Milverton Chapter - 8: The Six Napoleons Chapter - 9: The Three Students Chapter - 10: The Golden Pince-Nez Chapter - 11: The Missing Three-Quarter Chapter - 12: The Abbey Grange Chapter - 13: The Second Stain Chapter - 14: Wisteria Lodge Chapter - 15: The Cardboard Box Chapter - 16: The Red Circle Chapter - 17: The Bruce-Partington Plans Chapter - 18: The Dying Detective Chapter - 19: The Disappearance of Lady Frances Carfax Chapter - 20: The Devil's Foot Chapter - 21: His Last Bow Section - i: Afterword Section - ii: Bibliography Section - iii: Biography