Cantitate/Preț
Produs
Update 23 martie - COVID-19 - Informații privind activitatea Books Express

Before We Were Yours

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Hardback – 06 Jun 2017

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a "thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal."*

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge--until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents--but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty.

Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiance, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption.

Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

*Library Journal

Praise for Before We Were Yours

"A [story] of a family lost and found . . . a poignant, engrossing tale about sibling love and the toll of secrets." --People

"Sure to be one of the most compelling books you pick up this year. . . . Wingate is a master-storyteller, and you'll find yourself pulled along as she reveals the wake of terror and heartache that is Georgia Tann's legacy." --Parade

"One of the year's best books . . . It is impossible not to get swept up in this near-perfect novel." --The Huffington Post

"Lisa Wingate takes an almost unthinkable chapter in our nation's history and weaves a tale of enduring power." --Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of Circling the Sun

Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Paperback (2) 4470 lei  Economic 15-21 zile +475 lei  6-8 zile
  Quercus Books – 12 Jul 2018 4470 lei  Economic 15-21 zile +475 lei  6-8 zile
  Random House – 21 May 2019 9344 lei  Economic 15-21 zile +491 lei  6-8 zile
Hardback (1) 14342 lei  Economic 15-21 zile +1024 lei  6-8 zile
  BALLANTINE BOOKS – 06 Jun 2017 14342 lei  Economic 15-21 zile +1024 lei  6-8 zile

Preț: 14342 lei

Puncte Express: 215

Preț estimativ în valută:
2825 3324$ 2547£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 27 august-02 septembrie
Livrare express 18-20 august pentru 2023 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9780425284681
ISBN-10: 0425284689
Pagini: 352
Dimensiuni: 244 x 166 x 34 mm
Greutate: 0.57 kg
Editura: BALLANTINE BOOKS