Cantitate/Preț
Produs

When Breath Becomes Air

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Paperback – 2019
Descriere de la o altă ediție sau format:

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
THE WASHINGTON POST - THE NEW YORK TIMES - NPR

BOOKS FOR A BETTER LIFE AWARD FINALIST
At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naive medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.
What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.
Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.
Praise for When Breath Becomes Air
"I guarantee that finishing this book and then forgetting about it is simply not an option. . . . Part of this book's tremendous impact comes from the obvious fact that its author was such a brilliant polymath. And part comes from the way he conveys what happened to him--passionately working and striving, deferring gratification, waiting to live, learning to die--so well."--Janet Maslin, The New York Times
"An emotional investment well worth making: a moving and thoughtful memoir of family, medicine and literature. It is, despite its grim undertone, accidentally inspiring."--The Washington Post
"Possesses the gravity and wisdom of an ancient Greek tragedy . . . Kalanithi] delivers his chronicle in austere, beautiful prose. The book brims with insightful reflections on mortality that are especially poignant coming from a trained physician familiar with what lies ahead."--The Boston Globe
"Devastating and spectacular . . . Kalanithi] is so likeable, so relatable, and so humble, that you become immersed in his world and forget where it's all heading."--USA Today
"It's Kalanithi's] unsentimental approach that makes When Breath Becomes Air so original--and so devastating. . . . Its only fault is that the book, like his life, ends much too early."--Entertainment Weekly
"Split my head open with its beauty."--Cheryl Strayed

Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Paperback (4) 4874 lei  3-5 săpt. +721 lei  5-11 zile
  Random House – 2019 4874 lei  3-5 săpt. +721 lei  5-11 zile
  Random House – 2019 5603 lei  24-30 zile +269 lei  5-11 zile
  Random House – 05 Jan 2017 5652 lei  10-17 zile +1265 lei  5-11 zile
  Random House – 03 Jan 2017 7309 lei  3-5 săpt. +1322 lei  5-11 zile
Hardback (1) 14720 lei  24-30 zile +632 lei  5-11 zile
  Random House – 12 Jan 2016 14720 lei  24-30 zile +632 lei  5-11 zile

Preț: 4874 lei

Preț vechi: 5312 lei
-8%

Puncte Express: 73

Preț estimativ în valută:
939 916$ 825£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 17-31 octombrie
Livrare express 01-07 octombrie pentru 1720 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9781529110944
ISBN-10: 1529110947
Dimensiuni: 114 x 179 x 25 mm
Greutate: 0.14 kg
Editura: Random House
Colecția Vintage Books

Notă biografică

PAUL KALANITHI was a neurosurgeon and writer. He held degrees in English literature, human biology, and history and philoso­phy of science and medicine from Stanford and Cambridge universities before graduating from Yale School of Medicine. He also received the American Academy of Neu­rological Surgery's highest award for research.

His reflections on doctoring and illness have been published in the New York Times, the Washington Post and the Paris Review Daily.

Kalanithi died in March 2015, aged 37. He is survived by his wife, Lucy, and their daughter, Elizabeth Acadia.