Falling Upwards (Bestsellers popularizarea științei - Istorie)

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Paperback – 31 Oct 2019

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING EDDIE REDMAYNE and FELICITY JONES A GUARDIAN BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A NEW STATESMAN BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A DAILY TELEGRAPH BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A NEW REPUBLIC BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A TIME MAGAZINE TOP 10 NONFICTION From ambitious scientists rising above the clouds to analyse the air to war generals floating across enemy lines, Richard Holmes takes to the air in this heart-lifting history of pioneer balloonists. Falling Upwards asks why they risked their lives, and how their flights revealed the secrets of our planet. The stories range from early ballooning rivals to the long-distance voyages of American entrepreneurs; from the legendary balloon escape from the Prussian siege of Paris to dauntless James Glaisher, who in the 1860s flew seven miles above the earth - without oxygen.

Falling Upwards has inspired the Major Motion Picture The Aeronauts - in cinemas SOON. In a glorious fusion of history, art, science and biography, this is a book about what balloons give rise to: the spirit of discovery, and the brilliant humanity of recklessness, vision and hope.

Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Paperback (2) 5525 lei  23-35 zile +1553 lei  6-10 zile
  HarperCollins Publishers – 31 Oct 2019 5525 lei  23-35 zile +1553 lei  6-10 zile
  HarperCollins Publishers – 03 Jul 2014 7396 lei  23-35 zile +1825 lei  6-10 zile

Din seria Bestsellers popularizarea științei - Istorie

Preț: 5525 lei

Preț vechi: 6340 lei

Puncte Express: 83

Preț estimativ în valută:
1064 1050$ 925£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 28 octombrie-09 noiembrie
Livrare express 11-15 octombrie pentru 2552 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76


ISBN-13: 9780008380267
ISBN-10: 0008380260
Pagini: 416
Ilustrații: 40 col illus, 40 b/w plates
Dimensiuni: 126 x 198 x 35 mm
Greutate: 0.37 kg
Editura: HarperCollins Publishers
Seria Bestsellers popularizarea științei - Istorie

Notă biografică

Richard Holmes is the author of The Age of Wonder, which won the Royal Society Prize for Science Books and the National Book Critics Circle Award and was one of the ten New York Times' Best Books of the Year in 2009. His other biographies include Shelley: The Pursuit (winner of the 1974 Somerset Maugham Prize), Coleridge: Early Visions (winner of the 1989 Whitbread Book of the Year Award), Coleridge: Darker Reflections (shortlisted for the Samuel Johnson Prize and winner of the Duff Cooper Prize), and Dr. Johnson & Mr. Savage (winner of the 1993 James Tait Black Prize). This Long Pursuit completes the autobiographical trilogy begun in Footsteps (1985) and Sidetracks (2000). Holmes was awarded the OBE in 1992. He is the 2018 winner of the BIO Award presented by the Biographers International Organization for sustained achievement in biography. He lives in London and Norwich with the novelist Rose Tremain.