The Music of Ruth Crawford Seeger: Music in the Twentieth Century, cartea 6

Autor Joseph N. Straus
en Limba Engleză Paperback – 18 dec 2003
This book is the first full-length analytical study of the music of Ruth Crawford Seeger. Crawford was a pivotal figure in the American avant-garde, the so-called 'ultra-modern' movement of the 1920s and 1930s. In addition to her historical significance, as part of the first generation of American composers to step out from the shadow of European models, her music deserves attention for its original and compelling structures and its expressive power. Crawford created new ways of writing melodies, of combining them in heterogeneous juxtaposition, of projecting musical ideas over the largest spans of time, and of structuring rhythm and dynamics alongside pitch. In her innovative musical language, Crawford wrote a small handful of works that should now take their rightful place in the musical modernist canon.
Citește tot Restrânge

Din seria Music in the Twentieth Century

Preț: 35419 lei

Puncte Express: 531

Preț estimativ în valută:
6781 7353$ 5712£

Carte tipărită la comandă

Livrare economică 28 august-11 septembrie

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76


ISBN-13: 9780521548182
ISBN-10: 0521548187
Pagini: 276
Ilustrații: 185 music examples
Dimensiuni: 189 x 244 x 15 mm
Greutate: 0.5 kg
Editura: Cambridge University Press
Colecția Cambridge University Press
Seria Music in the Twentieth Century

Locul publicării:Cambridge, United Kingdom


1. Introduction; 2. Elements of a style; 3. Six analyses; 4. Crawford's music in its context; Biography; Index.


This is the first study of the music of Ruth Crawford Seeger, widely considered to be the most important American woman composer of this century.