Spring Awakening: A Children's Tragedy

De (autor) Traducere de Jonathan Franzen
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Paperback – September 2007
First performed in Germany in 1906, Frank Wedekind’s controversial play Spring Awakening closed after one night in New York in 1917 amid charges of obscenity and public outrage. For the better part of the twentieth century Wedekind’s intense body of work was largely unpublished and rarely performed. Yet the play’s subject matter—teenage desire, suicide, abortion, and homosexuality—is as explosive and important today as it was acentury ago. Spring Awakening follows the lives of three teenagers, Melchior, Moritz, and Wendl, as they navigate their entry into sexual awareness. Unlike so many works that claim to tell the truth of adolescence, Spring Awakening offers no easy answersor redemption.

Today, one hundred years after the play’s first performance, a new musical version of this essential modern masterpiece is being hailed as the “best new musical . . . in a generation” (John Heilpern, The New York Observer). Franzen’s version of the text—for so long poorly served in English—is unique in capturing the bizarre and inimitable comic spirit that animates almost every line of this unrelentingly tragic play. There couldn’t be a better time for this thrilling, definitive new translation.
Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Carte Paperback (5) 5414 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +574 lei  12-20 zile
  SMK Books – 13 Dec 2011 5414 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +574 lei  12-20 zile
  Oberon Books – 02 Sep 2014 5675 lei  Economic 14-20 zile +121 lei  5-7 zile
  Faber and Faber – September 2007 6972 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +532 lei  12-20 zile
  Methuen Publishing – March 2012 7301 lei  Economic 14-20 zile +241 lei  5-7 zile
  Bloomsbury Publishing – May 1988 8143 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +784 lei  12-20 zile

Preț: 6972 lei

Puncte Express: 105

Preț estimativ în valută:
1394 1557$ 1229£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 06-20 iunie
Livrare express 04-12 iunie pentru 1531 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76


ISBN-13: 9780865479784
ISBN-10: 086547978X
Pagini: 88
Dimensiuni: 142 x 208 x 8 mm
Greutate: 0.11 kg
Editura: Faber and Faber

Notă biografică

Jonathan Franzen is the author of The Corrections, winner of the 2001 National Book Award for fiction; the novels The Twenty-Seventh City and Strong Motion; and two works of nonfiction, How to Be Alone and The Discomfort Zone, all published by FSG.

Textul de pe ultima copertă

Spring's Awakening is a tragi-comedy of teenage sex. Its fourteen-year-old heroine, Wendla, is killed by abortion pills. The young Moritz, terrorized by the world around him, and especially by his teachers, shoots himself. The ending seems likely to be the suicide of Moritz's friend, Melchior, but in a confrontation with a mysterious stranger (the famous Masked Man) he finally manages to shed his illusions and face the consequences.


After a hit Broadway show and London transfer, a new film of Spring Awakening (musical version) is currently in production and is expected to be released early 2012


"Scrupulously faithful both to Wedekind's irony and his poetry."--"The Times of London"