Someone Else's Garden

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Paperback – 19 Jan 2012
A big, intensely involving and evocative Indian novel, perfect for fans of Vikas Swarup's Slumdog Millioniare, with its emotive and, ultimately, redemptive story.
Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Carte Paperback (2) 5131 lei  Economic 20-32 zile +1903 lei  6-10 zile
  Harper Collins Publishers – 19 Jan 2012 5131 lei  Economic 20-32 zile +1903 lei  6-10 zile
  Harper Collins Publishers – 31 Jan 2011 6993 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +848 lei  11-17 zile

Preț: 5131 lei

Preț vechi: 6208 lei

Puncte Express: 77

Preț estimativ în valută:
1047 1291$ 917£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 13-25 aprilie
Livrare express 30 martie-03 aprilie pentru 2902 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76


ISBN-13: 9780007355112
ISBN-10: 0007355114
Pagini: 416
Dimensiuni: 141 x 198 x 26 mm
Greutate: 0.28 kg
Editura: Harper Collins Publishers

Textul de pe ultima copertă

The eldest of seven children,born low-caste and female in rural India,Mamta is abused and rejected by a father whocan see no reason to “water someone else’s garden” until ahusband is found for her. Seeking escape in matrimony, Mamta beginsher wedded life with hope—but is soon forced to flee her village and thehorrors of her arranged marriage to the bustle of a small city. Saved from becomingone of the nameless and faceless millions of rejected humanity by thesalvation of sublime love, Mamta struggles to find a precarious state ofacceptance and make peace with her past.
Powerfully affecting and uplifting, set against a vivid and colorful backgroundof Eastern life, Dipika Rai’s Someone Else’s Garden transcends geographicaldivides and cultural chasms to brilliantly expose the commonalityof the human condition, compelling us to seek answerswithin ourselves to humanity’s eternalquestions: Is life random?Do we have a destiny?


“Beautifully written. . . . [With] depth of feeling.”
“A brave and ambitious first novel set in rural India, Someone Else’s Garden deals frankly with the brutality faced by many women and tells the story of how one woman achieves redemption.”
“Dipika Rai turns rural India into a setting for an epic tale of love and loss that feels timeless and familiar.”
“In the manner of Rohinton Mistry’s A Fine Balance, this is a multigenerational tale of Indian life. . . . A universal story of good-versus-evil and tradition-versus-modernity as well as of the redemptive power of belief.”