Cantitate/Preț
Produs

Monday's Not Coming

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Paperback – 23 Apr 2019 – vârsta de la 13 ani
From the critically acclaimed author of Allegedly, Tiffany D. Jackson, comes a gripping new novel perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Gillian Flynn about the mystery of one teenage girl’s disappearance and the traumatic effects of the truth.
Monday Charles is missing, and only Claudia seems to notice. Claudia and Monday have always been inseparable—more sisters than friends. So when Monday doesn’t turn up for the first day of school, Claudia’s worried.
When she doesn’t show for the second day, or second week, Claudia knows that something is wrong. Monday wouldn’t just leave her to endure tests and bullies alone. Not after last year’s rumors and not with her grades on the line. Now Claudia needs her best—and only—friend more than ever. But Monday’s mother refuses to give Claudia a straight answer, and Monday’s sister April is even less help.
As Claudia digs deeper into her friend’s disappearance, she discovers that no one seems to remember the last time they saw Monday. How can a teenage girl just vanish without anyone noticing that she’s gone?
Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Carte Paperback (1) 6230 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +463 lei  9-16 zile
  HARPERCOLLINS; – 23 Apr 2019 6230 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +463 lei  9-16 zile
Carte Hardback (1) 7143 lei  Economic 16-28 zile +2001 lei  3-7 zile
  HARPERCOLLINS; – 22 May 2018 7143 lei  Economic 16-28 zile +2001 lei  3-7 zile

Preț: 6230 lei

Puncte Express: 93

Preț estimativ în valută:
1257 1405$ 1129£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 07-21 august
Livrare express 02-09 august pentru 1462 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9780062422682
ISBN-10: 0062422685
Pagini: 464
Dimensiuni: 135 x 203 x 27 mm
Greutate: 0.41 kg
Editura: HARPERCOLLINS;
Colecția Katherine Tegen Books

Recenzii

“A mesmerizing, punch-in-the-gut story about the power of friendship and the horrors hiding right in front of us.”
“This thought-provoking thriller examines issues such as abuse, gentrification, and the marginalization of people of color with nuance and sensitivity. The narrative deftly moves back and forth between past and present, building to a devastating conclusion. A spellbinding, profoundly moving choice for YA collections.”
“Jackson effortlessly weaves elements of suspense with issues of race, class, and gender, casting a harsh light on a world that often refuses to notice the disappearances of black and brown girls. The twist at the end is both gaspworthy and heartbreaking.”
“Jackson doesn’t hold anything back when it comes to the pain of abuse and the ramifications of turning a blind eye. It’s a frank, devastating read filled with real and flawed characters, and it’s a story that needs to be read.”
“In addition to a gripping plot line, underlying social issues bubble beneath the surface, such as neighborhood gentrification, race, poverty, community, the healing of connection, and the destruction in disconnection.”
“The gravest, most fundamental challenge in Tiffany D. Jackson’s devastating novel is leveled at a society that purports to value children while allowing untold numbers of them, particularly poor children and children of color, to fall through the cracks.”
PRAISE FOR ALLEGEDLY: ★ “With remarkable skill, Jackson offers an unflinching portrayal of the raw social outcomes when youth are entrapped in a vicious cycle of nonparenting and are sent spiraling down the prison-for-profit pipeline. Dark, suspenseful.”
★ “Her novel effectively joins Ava DuVernay’s documentary 13th and Michelle Alexander’s The New Jim Crow (2010) to become another indictment of the penal system’s decimating power beyond its bars and, more subtly and refreshingly, a pro-reproductive-justice novel. Searing and true.”
★ “The characters are complex, the situation unsettling, and the line between right and wrong hopelessly blurred. It’s also intensely relevant, addressing race, age, and mental illness within the criminal justice system. Well conceived and executed, this is an absorbing and exceptional first novel.”
★ “Suspenseful without being emotionally manipulative, compelling without resorting to shock value, this is a tightly spun debut that wrestles with many intense ideas and ends with a knife twist that will send readers racing back to the beginning again.”
“Seen through Jackson’s dark portrait of the legal system and the failures of parents and social workers, Mary’s environments are as grim as the stories that play out in them; readers fascinated by procedural dramas will be thoroughly hooked.”
“A well-executed, powerful journey into the claustrophobic life of a young girl trying to navigate what little is left after the world has judged her, and what she will do to escape it.”
“A riveting, gut-wrenching thriller and a stunning debut.”
“Tiffany Jackson’s timely and chilling debut will haunt you for a long time. An extraordinary new voice.”