Cantitate/Preț
Produs

Edge of Extinction #1: The Ark Plan: Edge of Extinction, cartea 1

Autor Laura Martin Ilustrat de Eric Deschamps
en Limba Engleză Paperback – 2 mai 2017 – vârsta până la 12 ani

Jurassic World meets Dawn of the Planet of the Apes in this epic new middle grade series full of heart-pounding action and breathtaking chills! "Amazing adventures!" raves Brightly.com as they recommend Edge of Extinction as a Holiday Gift for Tween Readers. 
One hundred and fifty years ago, the first dinosaurs were cloned. Soon after, they replaced humans at the top of the food chain. The only way to survive was to move into underground compounds. . . .
Five years ago, Sky Mundy’s father vanished from North Compound without a trace. Now she has just stumbled on a clue that not only suggests his disappearance is just the tip of an even larger mystery, but also points directly to the surface. To find her dad—and possibly even save the world—Sky and her best friend, Shawn, must break out of their underground home and venture topside to a land reclaimed by nature and ruled by dinosaurs.
Perfect for fans of Brandon Mull, Lisa McMann, and Rick Riordan, this exhilarating debut novel follows two courageous friends who must survive in a lost world that’s as dangerous as they’ve always feared but also unlike anything they could ever have imagined.

Citește tot Restrânge

Din seria Edge of Extinction

Preț: 3735 lei

Preț vechi: 4544 lei
-18%

Puncte Express: 56

Preț estimativ în valută:
715 766$ 604£

Carte indisponibilă temporar

Doresc să fiu notificat când acest titlu va fi disponibil:

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9780062416230
ISBN-10: 0062416235
Pagini: 384
Dimensiuni: 130 x 194 x 20 mm
Greutate: 0.25 kg
Editura: HarperCollins Publishers
Colecția HarperCollins
Seria Edge of Extinction


Textul de pe ultima copertă

I always thought that I wouldn’t put you in danger for the world, but it turns out that for the world, I will. —Dad
one hundred and fifty years ago: The first dinosaurs were cloned. With their return came a prehistoric pandemic that nearly wiped out the human race. The only way to survive was to move underground, allowing the dinosaurs to take over. . . .
Five years ago: Sky Mundy’s father mysteriously fled their home in North Compound, one of four facilities where the last remnants of humanity have been trying to rebuild, leaving her all alone.
Yesterday: Sky discovered a cryptic message from him telling her the fate of the world depends on Sky delivering a memory card to someone above ground. No one survives above ground.
Now: Sky is going anyway. Breaking out of North Compound with her best friend, Shawn, in tow, Sky has to try to fulfill her father’s impossible request. As Sky ventures topside into this lost world reclaimed by nature and ruled by dinosaurs, she will discover it is just as dangerous as she had always feared . . . but it’s also nothing like she had ever expected.
I heard the sound of a tree branch snap, and I jerked my head up, scanning the surrounding trees. I’d only been above for a minute, but that was more than enough time for them to get my scent. I turned on my heel and sprinted for the compound entrance. The ground began to tremble under my feet, and I had to remind myself not to panic. I could panic later, when I was safely underground with two feet of concrete above my head.
I spotted the first one out of the corner of my eye as it burst from the trees. Bloodred scales winked in the dawn light as its opaque eyes focused in on me.
I hit the twenty-yard mark with my heart trying to claw its way up my throat. The Deinonychus was gaining on me.
Fifteen yards. Ten yards. Five. Two.


Recenzii

“In this clever take on Michael Crichton’s Jurassic Park, the tale is reimagined on a worldwide scale. Nonstop action, marauding dinosaurs, and kids on the run: What’s not to like? This is a great buy for the sci-fi adventure-loving crowd.” — School Library Journal
“This gripping survival adventure offers readers a potent mix of creative setting, edge-of-your-seat plotting, and admirable heroes. The world building is particularly strong, balancing the campy, the terrifying, and the dystopian. Perfect for readers who have carried their love of dinosaurs into middle school.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
“As a budding Katniss Everdeen—tough, stubborn, resilient, and though new to the bow a quick enough learner by the end to put an arrow through the eye of a ravening spinosaurus—Sky makes a promising protagonist.” — Kirkus Reviews
“Martin takes the premise of Michael Crichton’s Jurassic Park a step further. A harrowing journey filled with danger, dinosaurs, and surprises. A cliff-hanger ending ensures readers will eagerly await the next installment of this exciting new sci-fi series.” — ALA Booklist

Notă biografică

Laura Martin is a mom by day and a middle grade author by night, although in her heart she will always be a seventh-grade language arts teacher. She lives in the Indianapolis area with her family. You can connect with her on Instagram @LauraMartinBooks or at lauramartinbooks.com.