Cantitate/Preț
Produs

American Street

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Hardback – 14 Feb 2017 – vârsta de la 14 ani
A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews!
A New York Times Notable Book * Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * BookPage Best YA Book of the Year
American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.
In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.
On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life.
But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.
Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?
Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Carte Paperback (1) 5423 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +723 lei  8-12 zile
  HARPERCOLLINS; – May 2018 5423 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +723 lei  8-12 zile
Carte Hardback (1) 7156 lei  Economic 11-22 zile +910 lei  3-5 zile
  HARPERCOLLINS; – 14 Feb 2017 7156 lei  Economic 11-22 zile +910 lei  3-5 zile
CD-Audio (1) 14432 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1454 lei  8-12 zile
  14432 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1454 lei  8-12 zile

Preț: 7156 lei

Puncte Express: 107

Preț estimativ în valută:
1460 $ 1280£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 06-17 iulie
Livrare express 28-30 iunie pentru 1909 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9780062473042
ISBN-10: 0062473042
Pagini: 336
Dimensiuni: 140 x 210 x 28 mm
Greutate: 0.42 kg
Editura: HARPERCOLLINS;
Colecția Balzer + Bray

Textul de pe ultima copertă

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life.
But after they leave Port-au-Prince, -Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immi-gration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, -Chantal, -Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of -Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a -surprising -romance, all on her own.
Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an -impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?
In her stunning debut, Pushcart--nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of -America with magical realism and Vodou culture. Unflinching yet filled with joy, American Street is an evocative and -powerful coming-of-age story.

Recenzii

“Self-assured, elegant and utterly captivating.”
★ “Mixing gritty street life with the tenderness of first love, Haitian Vodou, and family bonds, the book is at once chilling, evocative, and reaffirming.”
★ “Filling her pages with magic, humanity, tragedy, and hope, Zoboi builds up, takes apart, and then rebuilds an unforgettable story. This book will take root in readers’ hearts.”
“Zoboi urges us to examine the American dream to see if there is room within it to hold the ones we love
★ “Zoboi’s stunning debut intertwines mysticism and love with grit and violence…Fierce and beautiful.”
“Will reach young readers regardless of their background.”
★ “A breathtaking story about contemporary America that will serve as a mirror to some and a window for others, and it will stay with anyone who reads it.”
“A poignant meditation on one girl’s struggle to find her way in a new world.”
“Brimming with culture, magic, warmth, and unabashed rawness, “American Street” is ultimately a blistering tale of humanity. This is “Manchild in the Promised Land,” for a new generation, and a remarkable debut from Zoboi, who without question is an inevitable force in storytelling.”
“Zoboi’s nascent storytelling gifts ensnare from page one. To this spellbinding voice of the next generation, I bow.”
“Following in the footsteps of Edwidge Danticat, Zoboi’s young adult debut is equal parts gritty and transcendent.”
“A refreshing take on a common literary preoccupation, the American dream...fascinating and beautiful.”