Cantitate/Preț
Produs

The Trees

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Paperback – 08 Sep 2016
A compulsive, mesmerising and wildly imaginative novel in the vein of Pan's Labyrinth and Station Eleven from the award-winning author of The Girl with Glass FeetThere came an elastic aftershock of creaks and groans and then, softly softly, a chinking shower of rubbled cement. Leaves calmed and trunks stood serene. Where, not a minute before, there had been a suburb, there was now only woodland standing amid ruins.There is no warning. No chance to prepare. The trees arrive in the night: thundering up through the ground,transforming streets and towns into shadowy forest. Adrien Thomas has never been much of a hero. But when he realises that no help is coming, he ventures into this unrecognisable world. Alongside green-fingered Hannah and her teenage son Seb, Adrien sets out to find his wife and to discover just how deep the forest goes. Their journey will take them to a place of terrible beauty and violence, to the dark heart of nature and the darkness inside themselves.
Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Carte Paperback (1) 4451 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +2230 lei  3-7 zile
  Bloomsbury Publishing – 08 Sep 2016 4451 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +2230 lei  3-7 zile
Carte Hardback (1) 14287 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1442 lei  8-14 zile
  Bloomsbury USA – August 2016 14287 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1442 lei  8-14 zile

Preț: 4451 lei

Preț vechi: 5883 lei
-24%

Puncte Express: 67

Preț estimativ în valută:
909 1117$ 794£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 09-23 mai
Livrare express 28 aprilie-02 mai pentru 3229 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9781408862308
ISBN-10: 1408862301
Pagini: 496
Dimensiuni: 129 x 198 x 35 mm
Greutate: 0.34 kg
Editura: Bloomsbury Publishing
Colecția Bloomsbury Paperbacks
Locul publicării: London, United Kingdom

Caracteristici

The Girl with Glass Feet was nominated for a number of awards and won the Desmond Elliott Prize, and The Man Who Rained garnered glowing reviews. The Trees is certain to attract attention

Notă biografică

Ali Shaw is the award-winning author of The Girl with Glass Feet and The Man who Rained. He grew up in Dorset and graduated from Lancaster University with a degree in English Literature. He has since worked as a bookseller and at the Bodleian Library. He now lives in Oxford, with his wife and baby daughter.alishaw.co.uk@Ali_Shaw

Recenzii

The Trees does for trees what Hitchcock did for birds. You have been warned
The strength of the novel is in the visceral descriptions of the forest: the reader feels, smells and hears the trees, convincingly portrayed as sinister, formidable and with unnerving intentions of their own. Shaw gradually builds up a sense of the supernatural, including "whisperers" . A bold, intriguing conceit for a dystopian environmental novel . A valiant exploration into notions of power and leadership, and what humans can do when tested to their limits
Strange and brilliantly unsettling, it's a vivid look at a world gone to the wild
A strange and vivid journey into an ancient forest that has taken over the world with force. The Trees is a thought-provoking meditation on what it means to be wild. Death, darkness and eerie creatures lurk among the branches, but it's the human characters that surprise the most ... Ali Shaw once again weaves a fantastical and haunting story
Shaw's climax is like nothing else, crescendoing with almost CGI levels of spectacle as Tarantino meets Middle Earth
Brilliant ... Masterfully written and utterly enthralling ... Dark and beautiful ****
Violent, beautiful, devastating and utterly enchanting - a triumph
The Trees is a stunning and vivid examination of the relationship between humans and the environment ... Shaw masterfully brings every detail of the book to life. A wonderfully imaginative story, but also a compelling social commentary
A fairy story for people who can still envisage a future that isn't completely bleak
A compelling adventure
Simultaneously bewildering and yet somehow hauntingly familiar, forcing us to consider how the natural world has become an elusive stranger to us all . A complete triumph for Ali Shaw *****
A gripping journey to the heart of wilderness . The Trees is a rarity and an absolute must-read
An English ecological version of The Road
Imaginative and original