Cantitate/Preț
Produs

The Sleepless Ones (Guillermo Downes Thriller, nr. 3)

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Paperback – 22 Sep 2016
The second thrilling detective mystery featuring Guillermo Downes, perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and hit TV series The Missing.

A gruesome find

An abandoned car by a ramshackle Cotswold farm draws the attention of local police officers. When DCI Guillermo Downes arrives at the farmhouse he finds a sickening scene of devastation and destruction.

A desperate search

Now Downes has a murder investigation to run and almost nothing to go on.

A cover up spanning decades

At first Downes - and his right hand man Sergeant Graves - struggle to find answers. But as they follow the threads of this brutal murder they find a stack of photographs of missing boys.

This case is bigger than Downes and Graves ever expected, and as they close in on the truth they uncover a conspiracy that goes right to the heart of the British establishment itself.


Praise for James Marrison:


'This is an exceptional and haunting murder mystery, a real cut above the rest' Irish Independent

'Dark, gripping and unexpected' Linwood Barclay

'Assured, astutely paced, a gripping thriller'
Herald

'Intriguing, taut, told with panache' Daily Mail
Citește tot Restrânge

Preț: 6620 lei

Puncte Express: 99

Preț estimativ în valută:
1274 1501$ 1089£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 14-20 octombrie
Livrare express 24-28 septembrie pentru 1522 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9781405917506
ISBN-10: 1405917504
Pagini: 384
Dimensiuni: 129 x 198 x 23 mm
Greutate: 0.27 kg
Editura: Penguin Books
Colecția Penguin
Seria Guillermo Downes Thriller

Locul publicării: London, United Kingdom

Notă biografică

James Marrison is a journalist whose writing has appeared in a number of national newspapers. James Marrison now lives in Buenos Aires, which provides the inspiration for his lead character, Argentinian-born detective Guillermo Downes. The Sleepless Ones is James's second novel, following on from his début novel The Drowning Ground.

Recenzii

DARK, GRIPPING AND UNEXPECTED
An Argentinian DCI in the heart of middle England brings a thoughtful outsider's viewpoint to a murder that has troubling links to unsolved crimes from the past. Guillermo Downes'sintelligent, intuitive policework keeps the pages turning
An intriguing debut . . . the plot [has] a strength and texture that help set it apart . . . Taut and told with panache, it ushers in a suitably spiky police hero
Marrison's tense debut expertly evokes a sense of place . . . the highly unusual denouement will catch most readers by surprise
A gripping thriller . . . a readable, complex tale, astutely paced . . . If the mark of a good whodunnit is that you can't actually guess whodunnit, then The Drowning Ground does its job well. Despite following the plot closely, I was still taken aback by the denouement
Move over Morse
With an intricate plot with numerous twists and an intriguing cop with a complex history, Marrison rivets the reader straight through to the novel's chilling conclusion. An author to watch, he scores high with this impressive debut
An assured début which promises much for the future
So many characters with so many secrets and deviant behaviours make this début mystery by James Marrison a real winner. The author's complex plotting, haunted characters, and gorgeous descriptions of winter are an absolute joy to read even as the action takes one suspenseful turn, then another and then another to an unexpected denouement. When it seems as though all the clues have been resolved, Marrison saves one last shocking revelation for the final chapter.. . . Expertly setting us up for the next chapter in the series ( I can't wait!), Marrison writes lovingly of his new hero, Guillermo Downes, a detective plagued by demons both internal and external yet determined to expose murder most foul whenever and wherever he can
A masterful novel . . . The protagonists are wonderfully portrayed. Downes is a bit of a mystery, a man born in Buenos Aires of a Argentinian mother and an English father. What led him to leave his homeland and make a life for himself in this small English town? Perhaps the answer will be revealed in the next novel in the series, something I'm eagerly anticipating