Cantitate/Preț
Produs

The Improbability of Love: SHORTLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2016

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Paperback – 31 Mar 2016
WINNER OF THE BOLLINGER EVERYMAN WODEHOUSE PRIZE FOR COMIC FICTION 2016SHORTLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2016 A BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICKWhen lovelorn Annie McDee stumbles across a dirty painting in a junk shop while looking for a present for an unsuitable man, she has no idea what she has discovered. Soon she finds herself drawn unwillingly into the tumultuous London art world, populated by exiled Russian oligarchs, avaricious Sheikas, desperate auctioneers and unscrupulous dealers, all scheming to get their hands on her painting - a lost eighteenth-century masterpiece called 'The Improbability of Love'. Delving into the painting's past, Annie will uncover not just an illustrious list of former owners, but some of the darkest secrets of European history - and in doing so she might just learn to open up to the possibility of falling in love again.
Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Paperback (2) 5172 lei  Economic 3-5 săpt. +2264 lei  7-9 zile
  Bloomsbury Publishing – 31 Mar 2016 5172 lei  Economic 3-5 săpt. +2264 lei  7-9 zile
  Vintage Publishing – 06 Sep 2016 9578 lei  Economic 3-5 săpt. +713 lei  17-25 zile

Preț: 5172 lei

Preț vechi: 6767 lei
-24%

Puncte Express: 78

Preț estimativ în valută:
995 1165$ 853£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 12-26 octombrie
Livrare express 28-30 septembrie pentru 3263 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9781408862476
ISBN-10: 1408862476
Pagini: 496
Dimensiuni: 129 x 198 x 35 mm
Greutate: 0.34 kg
Editura: Bloomsbury Publishing
Colecția Bloomsbury Paperbacks
Locul publicării: London, United Kingdom

Caracteristici

This book is perfect for readers of The Rosie Project, One Day and fans of Jojo Moyes

Notă biografică

Hannah Rothschild is a writer and film director. Her documentary feature films have appeared on the BBC and HBO and at international film festivals. She has written film scripts for Ridley Scott and Working Title, and articles for Vanity Fair, the New York Times, Harper's Bazaar, Vogue and others. Her first book, The Baroness, was published in 2012 and has been translated into six languages. She is the Chair of the National Gallery, a trustee of the Tate Gallery and Waddesdon Manor, and a Vice President of the Hay Literary Festival. The Improbability of Love, her first novel, is the joint winner of the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Fiction 2016 and is shortlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2016. It was a BBC Radio 2 Book Club pick and one of the Guardian's Best Books of 2015. She lives in London.hannahrothschild.com / @RothschildHan

Recenzii

A deliciously wicked satire ... It's exquisitely written, shimmering with eye-catching detail, whether describing works of art or the dishes on display at an extravagant banquet. Beneath all that, there's a serious debate about the value we put on things - whether it's art or relationships - and the prices we're prepared to pay. A masterpiece
Novel of the week . It all adds up to an ingenious meditation on the true value of art - timely indeed at a moment when paintings and sculpture seem to have become just another currency
Though this novel goes into the darkest of dark places, the overall tone is totally delicious; conspicuous consumption on this scale hasn't been seen since the Eighties
Part of the novel's charm is that its characters, rich or poor, are all a mixture of frailties. Like a Rococo painting, this clever, funny, beguiling and wholly humane romance is a treat worthy of its subject
This frothy confection works on many levels, combining a touching love story with an exciting whodunit sat in a hazardous, thrilling world. The story unfolds slowly at first, building up the tension until towards the end the chapters shorten and the pace quickens with staccato satire worthy of the pen of Evelyn Waugh. A real crowd pleaser ****
Hannah Rothschild is finally coming into her own. Soon to be head of the National Gallery, her novel about the art world is bound to be a bestseller
Her writing shows brain as well as a heart
The Improbability of Love is a romp, a joy, and an inspired feast of clever delights. Reading this book is like a raid on a high-end pastry shop - you marvel at the expertise and cunning of the creations, while never wanting the deliciousness to end
Every page is a joy. It's funny, sad, profound. The writing dances. It has panache. It's beautifully structured. It wears its scholarship with a balletic lightness and grace that shadows the Rococo painting at its heart. Its many and varied characters are an exquisite joy. Her range and emotional grasp is wonderful. What more can I say? It's my Book of the Year already
Impishly wicked, ruthlessly frank, touchingly percipient and sometimes laugh aloud funny to boot. Hannah Rothschild captures the contradiction between art as money and art as the soul of humanity really well
Both a satire of the art world and a romance . It's mischievous, fun and on the money
A timely reflection on art's true value
What a delightful read - a satirical look at the world of art with some love, mystery and comedy thrown in for good measure. There is a darker element to the plot which I won't spoil here, but it is tempered by a wonderful cast of characters and has the unusual addition of the painting as an occasional narrator. It's certainly a clever way of weaving the provenance of the painting into the story
Part detective story, part romance, the gripping narrative moves between contemporary London and Nazi Germany, examining along the way the meaning of love and loss, morality and greed, sacrifice and decadence . the central theme of Nazi art theft is deftly handled. An excellent and very funny debut
Absorbing . Rothschild cleverly has the painting itself tell part of the story and beautifully marshals a wealth of historical detail
A novel that is so pleasurable I've read it twice, and will read it again
A bittersweet and highly enjoyable satire
If you did not know much about the passion and power behind the doors of the great auction houses and art dealers, you will by the end of this enchanting tale . Part well-crafted mystery, part thriller, part love story, Rothschild's The Improbability of Love takes its readers on a wonderful journey into a rarefied world usually only experienced by the wealthy few
A capacious and fluently knowledgeable tale that excoriates with mischievously satirical intent the viciously competitive world of high-stakes art collecting ... Captivating ... Rothschild, the first woman to chair London's National Gallery, is a dazzling omniscient narrator giving voice to an irresistible cast of reprobates and heroes ... An opulently detailed, suspensefully plotted, shrewdly witty novel of decadence, crimes ordinary and genocidal, and improbable love
A frolicsome art-world caper . Ms. Rothschild writes with such exuberance and spins such a propulsive yarn . Her erudition - about restoration, authentication, art history in general - comes through on page after page, and it's one of the incidental pleasures of reading The Improbability of Love, as are her mouthwatering descriptions of the feasts Annie makes