Cantitate/Preț
Produs

Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever?

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Paperback – 07 May 2015

Your Fathers, Where Are They is Dave Eggers's brilliantly executed story of one man struggling to make sense of the world.
In a barracks on an abandoned military base, miles from the nearest road, Thomas watches as the man he has brought wakes up. Kev, a NASA astronaut, doesn't recognize his captor, though Thomas remembers him. Kev cries for help. He pulls at the chain. But the ocean is close by, and nobody can hear him over the waves and wind. Thomas apologizes. He didn't want to have to resort to this. But they really needed to have a conversation, and Kev didn't answer his messages. And now, if Kev can just stop yelling, Thomas has a few questions.
'With each tightly controlled book, Eggers's fiction becomes more prescient, moving and unsettling . . . Even if all generations are lost generations, we need engaged, incendiary novels which ask: What now?' Independent
'An angry and astute investigation into the state of America . . . Politically and polemically engaged in the tradition of Dickens and Zola' Mark Lawson, Guardian
'One of our fiercest and most compelling writers' Sunday Times
Dave Eggers is the author of nine books, including most recently The Circle and A Hologram for the King, which was a finalist for the 2012 National Book Award. He is the founder of McSweeney's, an independent publishing company based in San Francisco that produces books, a quarterly journal of new writing (McSweeney's Quarterly Concern), and a monthly magazine, The Believer. He lives in Northern California with his family.

Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Carte Paperback (3) 3731 lei  Economic 16-27 zile +2024 lei  1-2 săpt.
  Penguin Books – 07 May 2015 3731 lei  Economic 16-27 zile +2024 lei  1-2 săpt.
  Penguin Books – 07 May 2015 4646 lei  Economic 16-27 zile +845 lei  6-8 zile
  Vintage Publishing – 26 May 2015 6928 lei  Economic 15-21 zile +429 lei  6-8 zile
CD-Audio (1) 9924 lei  Economic 15-21 zile +283 lei  6-8 zile
  W. F. Howes Ltd. – February 2015 9924 lei  Economic 15-21 zile +283 lei  6-8 zile

Preț: 3731 lei

Preț vechi: 4145 lei
-10%

Puncte Express: 56

Preț estimativ în valută:
747 847$ 650£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 08-19 martie
Livrare express 27 februarie-06 martie pentru 3023 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9780241973004
ISBN-10: 0241973007
Pagini: 224
Dimensiuni: 111 x 181 x 14 mm
Greutate: 0.13 kg
Editura: Penguin Books
Colecția Penguin
Locul publicării: London, United Kingdom

Notă biografică

Dave Eggers was born in Boston in 1970. He is the author of A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius, You Shall Know Our Velocity, The Unforbidden is Compulsory, How We Are Hungry, Short Short Stories, Teachers Have It Easy, Surviving Justice, What is the What, How the Water Feels to the Fishes, The Wild Things, Zeitoun, A Hologram for the King, The Circle and Your Fathers, Where Are They? And The Prophets, Do They Live Forever? A Hologram for the King and The Circle are both currently in production for major film adaptations.
Dave Eggers is the founder of McSweeney's independent publishing house, the 826 National network, and the nonprofit organisation ScholarMatch. He lives in Northern California with his family and his next novel is forthcoming in 2016.


Recenzii

Within 212 pages, Eggers displays a delicate, haunting, sometimes dire picture of the world. It may not be a comfortable read, but it's an interesting take on what we believe to be true and what we hope to be true.
Eggers can write about pretty much anything and make it glitter and somersault on the page . . . dazzling and highly original
Possibly the most admired and emulated American author of his generation
A jazz session - a brief, single helping of strangeness that flaunts his panache for stylistic experimentation. . . The writing is compelling and the characterization astute
Inherently interesting. I can think of few contemporary American writers who convey such a sense of urgency about the mess we're in. Eggers pulls no punches
A one-sitting read . . . insightful
One of the country's leading literary eminences
Eggers writes so well you would read a computer manual if it was by him, but beneath his beguiling style is a base note of genuine concern about those who find themselves out of kilter with society.
His latest novella, Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever? stretches his toying with literary forms to new lengths...compelling
But with each tightly controlled book, Eggers' fiction becomes more prescient, moving and unsettling... Even if all generations are lost generations, we need engaged, incendiary novels which ask: What now?
The faint echo of Plato's dialogues . . . Raising questions about the appropriate
relationship between authority and compassion.

An angry and astute investigation into the state of America ... Politically and polemically engaged in the tradition of Dickens and Zola.
Eggers has a knack for potent images of frustration . . [He] has produced something timely
A major talent. His voice - loud, sardonic, compassionate, and honest . . . Eggers has developed into a profoundly serious novelist and nonfiction writer with a social and political conscience.
Dave Eggers never writes the same book twice, and his latest may be his most unusual to date . . . [A] fleet and forceful story by one of our finest fiction writers . . .stark exchanges, with little exposition ... propels the reader to the end.
Unmistakably the work of a singular talent. . . Even if all generations are lost generations, we need engaged, incendiary novels which ask: What now?
Fathers is a screaming, bleating cry for society to fix itself. It is a frothing, angry, mournful meditation on what is slipping away as America plows on into the 21st century... compelling
Another startling leap into new territory . . . Here is a tale as tightly wound as an alarm clock. . . Eggers has always been as elastic writer, but in Your Fathers he puts his language to the ultimate test.
This short, provocative novel feels a bit like Jack Bauer stepping into Kierkegaard's collected works. . . ambitiously confronts a grand history of philosophical angst . . . Swift and smart.
Engaging . . . You know what Eggers wants to say, he says it quickly, and he says it with a respectably righteous fury. And, ultimately, he says it with a compassion that's always been present in his work . . . Fascinating.