Cantitate/Preț
Produs

To Best the Boys

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Hardback – 19 Mar 2019 – vârsta de la 13 ani
Perfect for fans of The Scorpio Races and CaravalTo Best the Boys is a new fantasy novel from the beloved and bestselling author of the Storm Siren trilogy, Mary Weber.
To Best the Boys is an addicting read.” —JODI MEADOWS, New York Times bestselling author of The Incarnate Trilogy and coauthor of My Lady Jane
The task is simple:
Don a disguise.
Survive the labyrinth.
Best the boys.
In a thrilling new fantasy from the bestselling author of the Storm Siren Trilogy, one girl makes a stand against society and enters a world made exclusively for boys.
Every year for the past fifty-four years, the residents of Pinsbury Port have received a mysterious letter inviting all eligible-aged boys to compete for an esteemed scholarship to the all-male Stemwick University. The poorer residents look to see if their names are on the list. The wealthier look to see how likely their sons are to survive. And Rhen Tellur opens it to see if she can derive which substances the ink and parchment are created from, using her father’s microscope.
In the province of Caldon, where women train in wifely duties and men pursue collegiate education, sixteen-year-old Rhen Tellur wants nothing more than to become a scientist. As the poor of her seaside town fall prey to a deadly disease, she and her father work desperately to find a cure. But when her mum succumbs to it as well? Rhen decides to take the future into her own hands—through the annual all-male scholarship competition.
With her cousin, Seleni, by her side, the girls don disguises and enter Mr. Holm’s labyrinth, to best the boys and claim the scholarship prize. Except not everyone is ready for a girl who doesn’t know her place. And not everyone survives the deadly maze.
Welcome to the labyrinth.
“Atmospheric, romantic, inspiring.” —KRISTEN CICCARELLI, internationally bestselling author of The Last Namsara
A “Hunger Games/Handmaid’s Tale mash-up.” —BN Teen Blog
Citește tot Restrânge

Preț: 7821 lei

Puncte Express: 117

Preț estimativ în valută:
1564 1747$ 1379£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 06-12 iunie
Livrare express 28-30 mai pentru 1722 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9780718080969
ISBN-10: 0718080963
Pagini: 336
Dimensiuni: 146 x 220 x 28 mm
Greutate: 0.41 kg
Editura: Thomas Nelson
Colecția Thomas Nelson
Locul publicării: Nashville, United States

Recenzii

'Feminist YA that Doesn't Disappoint'
'Weber's fantasy delves into themes of social class, feminism, gender roles, and love.'
'This book is one of a kind. We couldn't put it down and didn't want it to end. There's science, and romance. There's characters to love and ones to hate. There's bits of mystery and feminism. There's something for everyone.'
'This was impossible to put down and absolutely engrossing -- I was fully enveloped in this world and contest. . . I highly recommend for all lovers of YA fantasy.'
'Mary Weber continues her lyrical world building with a historic, fantastical twist while also giving us characters who portray so much more of the multi-dimensional world we live in. Perhaps my favorite thing about this novel is the ability it has to stay grounded, to show us characters who are so often unrepresented and to remind us that we all can fight and play our part for a better world and a better future.'