Cantitate/Preț
Produs

The Water Cure: LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Paperback – 24 May 2018

THE LITERARY DEBUT OF THE SUMMER 2018
'A gripping, sinister fable' - MARGARET ATWOOD, via Twitter
'An extraordinary debut novel. Otherworldly, luminous, precise... She is writing the way that Sofia Coppola would shoot the end of the world' Guardian
'Bold, inventive, haunting... With shades of Margaret Atwood and Eimear McBride, you'll be bowled over by it' Stylist
'Visceral, hypnotic... with one of my favourite endings I've read in a long while' The Pool
Imagine a world very close to our own: where women are not safe in their bodies, where desperate measures are required to raise a daughter. This is the story of Grace, Lia and Sky, kept apart from the world for their own good and taught the terrible things that every woman must learn about love. And it is the story of the men who come to find them - three strangers washed up by the sea, their gazes hungry and insistent, trailing desire and destruction in their wake.
The Water Cure is a fever dream, a blazing vision of suffering, sisterhood and transformation.
'Immensely assured, calmly devastating' Katherine Angel, author of Unmastered
'A work of cool, claustrophobic beauty' Eli Goldstone, author of Strange Heart Beating
'Eerily beautiful, strange [and] unsettling' Paula Hawkins, author ofThe Girl on the Train
'Otherworldly, brutal and poetic: a feminist fable set by the sea, a female Lord of the Flies. It felt like a book I'd been waiting to read for a long time' Emma Jane Unsworth, author of Animals
Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Carte Paperback (2) 4876 lei  Economic 14-20 zile +338 lei  5-7 zile
  Penguin Books – 24 May 2018 5940 lei  24 ore
  Penguin Books – 25 Apr 2019 4876 lei  Economic 14-20 zile +338 lei  5-7 zile
Carte Hardback (1) 6942 lei  Economic 15-26 zile +1509 lei  5-7 zile
  Penguin Books – 24 May 2018 6942 lei  Economic 15-26 zile +1509 lei  5-7 zile

Preț: 5940 lei

Preț vechi: 6644 lei
-11%

Puncte Express: 89

Preț estimativ în valută:
1189 1334$ 1031£

Carte în stoc

Livrare din stoc 26 aprilie

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9780241337349
ISBN-10: 0241337348
Pagini: 256
Dimensiuni: 150 x 200 x 16 mm
Greutate: 0.32 kg
Editura: Penguin Books
Colecția Hamish Hamilton
Locul publicării: London, United Kingdom

Notă biografică

Sophie Mackintosh is the author of The Water Cure, which was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2018. She also won the 2016 White Review Short Story Prize and the 2016 Virago/Stylist Short Story competition, and has been published in Granta and TANK magazine among others. She is now working on her second novel, Blue Ticket, which will be published by Hamish Hamilton in Spring 2020.

Recenzii

In raw, visceral prose, Mackintosh probes at ideas of the threat of male violence, the ways women are told to protect ourselves, love and sisterhood and survival. A hypnotic, stormy book, with one of my favourite endings I've read in a long while
A feminist dystopian fairy tale, a sexual coming-of-age story and a survival-of-the-fittest tale. Evocative, suspenseful and bleak - in short, everything this age seems to be demanding
Bewitching... [An] ambiguous utopia
Stunning... A haunting story of abuse, death, and desire... Chilling and topical, a breathtaking debut
Eerily beautiful, this strange, unsettling novel creeps up and grabs hold of you
Darkly gratifying, dreamy, primal, and arresting [as] a fairy tale... The overgrown grounds, with their perimeter of rusty barbed wire and shark-infested waters, resemble Sleeping Beauty's castle
Searing, richly drawn, eerily compelling... As foreboding in what it holds back as in what it reveals
Elemental... [A] utopia portrayed in spectral, organic prose... Mackintosh is a wonderful stylist; the full scope of her imagination, as well as the cohesion of her vision, is evident on every page... A seriously impressive feat
An extraordinary debut... Otherworldly, luminous, precise
Bold, inventive, haunting... With shades of Margaret Atwood and Eimear McBride, you'll be bowled over by it
The Water Cure is eerily still and pure - with saline bite... Mackintosh asks if it is the traumas of our pasts that ultimately pose the greatest threat to our futures
Powerfully unsettling, immensely assured, calmly devastating. It conjures a world both alien and familiar, exploring the physical and psychological cruelties enacted on women, by men, in the name of their protection, and the noble and ignoble uses to which anger can be put in a perverse world. This is a gem of a novel, and I was bowled over by it
Electric [and] beautifully strange... Her novel is an exercise in minimalism
A hypnotic read... This extraordinary debut is a feminist, quasi-dystopian read - great for fans of Hot Milk, The Girls and The Vegetarian
A work of cool, claustrophobic beauty. Sophie Mackintosh writes devastatingly well about the complexities that women face in loving men, and in loving each other
Uneasy, mythic, lawless... The atmospheric landscapes cloak trauma and violence in wisps of uncertainty, where bad feelings coalesce as both presciently felt and strangely unknowable
Otherworldly, brutal and poetic: a feminist fable set by the sea, a utopia gone awry, a female Lord of the Flies. It transported me, savaged me, filled me with hope and fear. It felt like a book I'd been waiting to read for a long time
[A] lyrical debut, original and very atmospheric
Eerie, electric, beautiful. It rushes you through to the end on a tide of tension and closely held panic. I loved this book
Creepy and delightful, a portrayal of post-apocalyptic puberty, intermingling desire and despair. It has a pinch of Shirley Jackson, a dash of chlorine, and an essence all of its own
Powerful, mythic, seductively sinister... Her alternative world is as carefully imagined as one of Margaret Atwood's... [Sophie Mackintosh] is a writer to be reckoned with
Eerie and unsettling, the novel exerts a hypnotic grip as the tension builds
A superb debut
The Water Cure deserves a Sofia Coppola-style big-screen treatment, although its cultish overtones and sinister denouement are as reminiscent of The Wicker Man as The Virgin Suicides