Cantitate/Preț
Produs

The Tattooist of Auschwitz (New York Times Bestsellers 2020)

De (autor)
Notă Books Express:  5.00 · o notă  
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Paperback – 06 Sep 2018

For readers of Schindler's List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances. I tattooed a number on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart.

In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival - scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust. Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl.

For Lale - a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer - it was love at first sight. And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too. So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz.

-----'Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting . . .

I recommend it unreservedly' Greame Simsion'A moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war . . .

It's a triumph.' Jill Mansell

Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Carte Paperback (6) 3231 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +788 lei  7-11 zile
  Bonnier Zaffre Ltd. – 06 Sep 2018 3231 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +788 lei  7-11 zile
  Hot Key Books – May 2019 4652 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1226 lei  7-11 zile
  Zaffre Publishing – 04 Oct 2018 5081 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1318 lei  7-11 zile
  Bonnier Zaffre Ltd. – 11 Jan 2018 7994 lei  Economic 14-19 zile +620 lei  7-11 zile
  Harpercollins - Us – 04 Sep 2018 9158 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1363 lei  7-11 zile
  Harpercollins - Us – 04 Sep 2018 10941 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +839 lei  13-20 zile
Carte Hardback (2) 8220 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +2162 lei  7-11 zile
  Zaffre Publishing – 11 Jan 2018 8220 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +2162 lei  7-11 zile
  Harpercollins - Us – 04 Sep 2018 14568 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1127 lei  13-20 zile
CD-Audio (1) 13797 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1067 lei  14-22 zile
  HARPERCOLLINS; – 04 Sep 2018 13797 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1067 lei  14-22 zile

Din seria New York Times Bestsellers 2020

Preț: 3231 lei

Preț vechi: 4038 lei
-20%

Puncte Express: 48

Preț estimativ în valută:
639 706$ 547£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 13-27 martie
Livrare express 06-10 martie pentru 1787 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9781785763687
ISBN-10: 1785763687
Pagini: 272
Dimensiuni: 112 x 177 x 30 mm
Greutate: 0.20 kg
Editura: Bonnier Zaffre Ltd.
Colecția Zaffre
Seriile New York Times Bestsellers 2020 , New York Times Bestsellers , New York Times Bestsellers


Textul de pe ultima copertă

In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau. When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a Tätowierer (the German word for tattooist), tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners.
Imprisoned for more than two and a half years, Lale witnesses horrific atrocities and barbarism—but also incredible acts of bravery and compassion. Risking his own life, he uses his privileged position to exchange jewels and money from murdered Jews for food to keep his fellow prisoners alive.
One day in July 1942, Lale, prisoner 32407, comforts a trembling young woman waiting in line to have the number 34902 tattooed onto her arm. Her name is Gita, and in that first encounter, Lale vows to somehow survive the camp and marry her.
A vivid, harrowing, and ultimately hopeful re-creation of Lale Sokolov’s experiences as the man who tattooed the arms of thousands of prisoners with what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust, The Tattooist of Auschwitz is also a testament to the endurance of love and humanity under the darkest possible conditions.


Recenzii

“Based on a true story, the wrenching yet riveting tale of Lale’s determination to survive the camp with Gita is a moving testament to the power of kindness, ingenuity, and hope.”
 
“Like the Nobel Prize-winning author Elie Wiesel’s Night, Morris’ work takes us inside the day-to-day workings of the most notorious German death camp. Over the course of three years, Morris interviewed Lale, teasing out his memories and weaving them into her heart-rending narrative of a Jew whose unlikely forced occupation as a tattooist put him in a position to act with kindness and humanity in a place where both were nearly extinct.”
“The Tattooist of Auschwitz is the story of hope and survival against incredible odds and the power of love.”
The Tattooist of Auschwitz is an extraordinary document.. I find it hard to imagine anyone who would not be drawn in, confronted and moved. I would recommend it unreservedly to anyone, whether they’d read a hundred Holocaust stories or none.”
“What an extraordinary and important book this is. We need as many memories of the Holocaust as we can retain, and this is a moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war.”
“As many interviews as I did with Holocaust survivors for the Shoah Foundation and as many devastating testimonies as I heard, I could not stop reading THE TATTOOIST OF AUSCHWITZ—an extraordinary story of love so fierce it sustained people enduring the unimaginable. Read it, share it, remember it.”
“To many, this book will be most appreciated for its powerful evocation of the everyday horrors of life as a prisoner in a concentration camp, while others will be heartened by the novel’s message of how true love can transcend even the most hellishly inhuman environments. This is a perfect novel for book clubs and readers of historical fiction.”
“..this is a powerful, gut-wrenching tale that is hard to shake off.”
“Although one might suspect that there’s far more to his past than is revealed here, much of Lale’s story’s complexity makes it onto the page. And even though it’s clear that Lale will survive, Morris imbues the novel with remarkable suspense.”