Update 23 martie - COVID-19 - Informații privind activitatea Books Express

The Orchard on Fire

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Paperback – 23 Jun 1997
When April Harlency and her parents move from Streatham to The Copper Kettle Tearoom in Kent April's whole life changes. Through her eyes we witness her rite of passage from childhood to adolescence. With her best friend, the wonderfully exciting but dangerous Ruby, they discover an idyllic secret world in the orchard. However, their lives are permeated with a sense of menace which is mainly centred on Mr Greenidge who befriends April and involves her in a sinister and uncomfortable relationship that will eventually lead to trouble for all her family.
Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Paperback (3) 4900 lei  Economic 20-32 zile
  Vintage Publishing – 23 Jun 1997 4900 lei  Economic 20-32 zile
  Little Brown Book Group – 07 Apr 2016 5585 lei  Economic 13-24 zile +394 lei  6-10 zile
  HMH Books – 15 Nov 1997 30190 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +2374 lei  13-21 zile

Preț: 4900 lei

Preț vechi: 5671 lei

Puncte Express: 74

Preț estimativ în valută:
964 1088$ 863£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 31 iulie-12 august

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76


ISBN-13: 9780749394066
ISBN-10: 0749394064
Pagini: 224
Dimensiuni: 128 x 198 x 14 mm
Greutate: 0.17 kg
Editura: Vintage Publishing
Locul publicării: United Kingdom

Notă biografică

Shena Mackay was born in Edinburgh in 1944 and grew up in Kent and London, where she now lives. She left school at the age of 16 after winning a poetry competition in the Daily Mirror Her first book, published in 1964 but written when she was still a teenager, consists of two novellas, Dust Falls on Eugene Schlumburger and Toddler on the Run. Her first novel, Music Upstairs was published in 1965 and was followed by Old Crow (1967), An Advent Calendar (1971), Babies in Rhinestones (1983), A Bowl of Cherries (1984), Redhill Rococo (1986) -- winner of the Fawcett Prize -- Dreams of Dead Women' Handbags (1987), the widely admired Dunedin (1992) and The Laughing Academy (1993). Both Dunedin and The Laughing Academy won Scottish Arts Council Book Awards. The Orchard on Fire was shortlisted for the 1996 Booker Prize and the McVities Prize. The Artist's Widow was published in 1998 and her latest book, The World's Smallest Unicorn, a collection of short stories, was published in 1999.

Shena regularly writes stories for the BBC and others, and reviews books and theatre for a variety of publications. She has been a Booker Prize judge and has also been made a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.


'A harvest festival of sensuous detail, intimate, rich… compulsively readable' -- Daily Telegraph

'So touched with magic, so achingly sad and funny that my breath was taken away… Wonderful' -- The Times

'Mackay moved this reader to ears, not from grief, but from joy. Now there's a skill' -- Fay Weldon, Mail on Sunday
"A harvest festival of sensuous detail, intimate, rich... Compulsively readable" Daily Telegraph "Mackay moved this reader to tears, not from grief, but from joy. Now there's a skill" -- Fay Weldon Mail on Sunday "An extremely beautiful and funny novel... The Orchard on Fire is probably Mackay's most perfect book, produced with a technical adroitness and shapeliness which one can only envy" -- Philip Hensher Guardian "Shena Mackay is a writer in prime: at the height of her powers... Her prose is flawlessly seductive and comic, confidently witty and sensual" -- Julie Myerson Independent on Sunday "Wholly delightful... Shena Mackay is an assured artist" -- A. N. Wilson Evening Standard