Cantitate/Preț
Produs

The Maze Runner: Thomas and the Monster [With 4 Jumbo Crayons]

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Paperback – 05 Aug 2014 – vârsta de la 12 ani

Vezi toate premiile Carte premiată

Perfect for fans of "Divergent" and "The Hunger Games, " this special movie tie-in edition of the first book in the #1 "New York Times" bestselling Maze Runner series, "The Maze Runner," features an eight-page full-color insert with photos from the film and an exclusive fan sticker. The first and second books, "The Maze Runner" and "The Scorch Trials," are now major motion pictures featuring the star of MTV s "Teen Wolf, " Dylan O Brien, as Thomas; Kaya Scodelario as Teresa; Aml Ameen as Alby; Will Poulter as Gally; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster as Newt And look for James Dashner s newest novels, "The Eye of Minds" and "The Rule of Thoughts," the first two books in the Mortality Doctrine series.
"Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade."
Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It s the only way out and no one s ever made it through alive.
"Everything is going to change."
Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.
Remember. Survive. Run.
Praise for the Maze Runner series:
A #1 "New York Times" Bestselling Series
A "USA Today" Bestseller
A "Kirkus Reviews" Best Teen Book of the Year
An ALA-YASLA Best Fiction for Young Adults Book
An ALA-YALSA Quick Pick
" A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of "Lord of the Flies," "The Hunger Games," and "Lost."" EW.com
Wonderful action writing fast-paced but smart and well observed. "Newsday"
A] nail-biting must-read. Seventeen.com
Breathless, cinematic action. "Publishers Weekly"
Heart pounding to the very last moment. "Kirkus Reviews"
Exclamation-worthy. "Romantic Times"
STAR] James Dashner s illuminating prequel "The Kill Order"] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series. "Shelf Awareness," Starred
"Take a deep breath before you start any James Dashner book."-"Deseret News""
Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Carte Paperback (2) 6071 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +452 lei  9-16 zile
  Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers – August 2010 6071 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +452 lei  9-16 zile
  Delacorte Press – 05 Aug 2014 6487 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +484 lei  10-20 zile
Carte Hardback (3) 10705 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +821 lei  9-16 zile
  Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers – October 2009 10705 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +821 lei  9-16 zile
  Perfection Learning – August 2010 11157 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +856 lei  10-20 zile
  Bloomsbury Publishing – August 2010 12700 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +979 lei  10-20 zile

Preț: 6487 lei

Puncte Express: 97

Preț estimativ în valută:
1305 1437$ 1159£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 02-16 octombrie
Livrare express 28 septembrie-08 octombrie pentru 1483 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9780385385206
ISBN-10: 038538520X
Pagini: 375
Dimensiuni: 138 x 216 x 22 mm
Greutate: 0.34 kg
Editura: Delacorte Press
Colecția Delacorte Press

Recenzii

Praise for the Maze Runner series:

A "New York Times" Bestseller
A "USA Today" Bestseller
A Book Sense Bestseller
An Indie Next List Selection
A "Kirkus Reviews" Best Teen Book of the Year
An ALA-YASLA Best Fiction for Young Adults Book
An ALA-YALSA Quick Pick

"[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of "Lord of the Flies", "The Hunger Games", and "Lost"."--EW.com

"Wonderful action-writing--fast-paced...but smart and well observed."--"Newsday"

"[A] nail-biting must-read."--Seventeen.com

"Breathless, cinematic action."--"Publishers Weekly"

"Heart pounding to the very last moment."--"Kirkus Reviews"

"Exclamation-worthy."--"Romantic Times"

* "James Dashner's illuminating prequel ["The Kill Order"] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series."--"Shelf Awareness", Starred

"Take a deep breath before you start any James Dashner book."--"Deseret News"

Notă biografică

James Dashner is the author of the "New York Times" bestselling Maze Runner series: "The Maze Runner," "The Scorch Trials," "The Death Cure," and "The Kill Order," as well as "The Eye of Minds, "book one in the Mortality Doctrine series. Dashner was born and raised in Georgia, but now lives and writes in the Rocky Mountains. To learn more about James and his books, visit JamesDashner.com, follow @jamesdashner on Twitter, and find dashnerjames on Instagram.

Extras

Chapter 1


He began his new life standing up, surrounded by cold darkness and stale, dusty air.
Metal ground against metal; a lurching shudder shook the floor beneath him. He fell down at the sudden movement and shuffled backward on his hands and feet, drops of sweat beading on his forehead despite the cool air. His back struck a hard metal wall; he slid along it until he hit the corner of the room. Sinking to the floor, he pulled his legs up tight against his body, hoping his eyes would soon adjust to the darkness.

With another jolt, the room jerked upward like an old lift in a mine shaft.

Harsh sounds of chains and pulleys, like the workings of an ancient steel factory, echoed through the room, bouncing off the walls with a hollow, tinny whine. The lightless elevator swayed back and forth as it ascended, turning the boy's stomach sour with nausea; a smell like burnt oil invaded his senses, making him feel worse. He wanted to cry, but no tears came; he could only sit there, alone, waiting.

My name is Thomas, he thought.

That... that was the only thing he could remember about his life.

He didn't understand how this could be possible. His mind functioned without flaw, trying to calculate his surroundings and predicament. Knowledge flooded his thoughts, facts and images, memories and details of the world and how it works. He pictured snow on trees, running down a leaf-strewn road, eating a hamburger, the moon casting a pale glow on a grassy meadow, swimming in a lake, a busy city square with hundreds of people bustling about their business.

And yet he didn't know where he came from, or how he'd gotten inside the dark lift, or who his parents were. He didn't even know his last name. Images of people flashed across his mind, but there was no recognition, their faces replaced with haunted smears of color. He couldn't think of one person he knew, or recall a single conversation.

The room continued its ascent, swaying; Thomas grew immune to the ceaseless rattling of the chains that pulled him upward. A long time passed. Minutes stretched into hours, although it was impossible to know for sure because every second seemed an eternity. No. He was smarter than that. Trusting his instincts, he knew he'd been moving for roughly half an hour.

Strangely enough, he felt his fear whisked away like a swarm of gnats caught in the wind, replaced by an intense curiosity. He wanted to know where he was and what was happening.

With a groan and then a clonk, the rising room halted; the sudden change jolted Thomas from his huddled position and threw him across the hard floor. As he scrambled to his feet, he felt the room sway less and less until it finally stilled. Everything fell silent.

A minute passed. Two. He looked in every direction but saw only darkness; he felt along the walls again, searching for a way out. But there was nothing, only the cool metal. He groaned in frustration; his echo amplified through the air, like the haunted moan of death. It faded, and silence returned. He screamed, called for help, pounded on the walls with his fists.

Nothing.

Thomas backed into the corner once again, folded his arms and shivered, and the fear returned. He felt a worrying shudder in his chest, as if his heart wanted to escape, to flee his body.

"Someone... help... me!" he screamed; each word ripped his throat raw.

A loud clank rang out above him and he sucked in a startled breath as he looked up. A straight line of light appeared across the ceiling of the room, and Thomas watched as it expanded. A heavy grating sound revealed double sliding doors being forced open. After so long in darkness, the light stabbed his eyes; he looked away, covering his face with both hands.

He heard noises above--voices--and fear squeezed his chest.

"Look at that shank."

"How old is he?"

"Looks like a klunk in a T-shirt."

"You're the klunk, shuck-face."

"Dude, it smells like feet down there!"

"Hope you enjoyed the one-way trip, Greenie."

"Ain't no ticket back, bro."

Thomas was hit with a wave of confusion, blistered with panic. The voices were odd, tinged with echo; some of the words were completely foreign--others felt familiar. He willed his eyes to adjust as he squinted toward the light and those speaking. At first he could see only shifting shadows, but they soon turned into the shapes of bodies--people bending over the hole in the ceiling, looking down at him, pointing.

And then, as if the lens of a camera had sharpened its focus, the faces cleared. They were boys, all of them--some young, some older. Thomas didn't know what he'd expected, but seeing those faces puzzled him. They were just teenagers. Kids. Some of his fear melted away, but not enough to calm his racing heart.

Someone lowered a rope from above, the end of it tied into a big loop. Thomas hesitated, then stepped into it with his right foot and clutched the rope as he was yanked toward the sky. Hands reached down, lots of hands, grabbing him by his clothes, pulling him up. The world seemed to spin, a swirling mist of faces and color and light. A storm of emotions wrenched his gut, twisted and pulled; he wanted to scream, cry, throw up. The chorus of voices had grown silent, but someone spoke as they yanked him over the sharp edge of the dark box. And Thomas knew he'd never forget the words.

"Nice to meet ya, shank," the boy said. "Welcome to the Glade."


From the Hardcover edition.

Premii