The Forsyte Saga

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Paperback – 30 Nov 2018
Descriere de la o altă ediție sau format:
The Forsyte Saga, first published under that title in 1922, is a series of three novels and two interludes published between 1906 and 1921 by Nobel Prize-winning English author John Galsworthy. They chronicle the vicissitudes of the leading members of a large commercial upper-middle-class English family, similar to Galsworthy's own. 1] Only a few generations removed from their farmer ancestors, the family members are keenly aware of their status as "new money." The main character, Soames Forsyte, sees himself as a "man of property" by virtue of his ability to accumulate material possessions-but this does not succeed in bringing him pleasure. Separate sections of the saga, as well as the lengthy story in its entirety, have been adapted for cinema and television. The first book, The Man of Property, was adapted in 1949 by Hollywood as That Forsyte Woman, starring Errol Flynn, Greer Garson, Walter Pidgeon, and Robert Young. The BBC produced a popular 26-part serial in 1967, that also dramatised a subsequent trilogy concerning the Forsytes, A Modern Comedy. In 2002, Granada Television produced two series for the ITV network called The Forsyte Saga and The Forsyte Saga: To Let, and the two Granada series made their runs in the US as part of Masterpiece Theatre. In 2003, The Forsyte Saga was listed as #123 on the BBC's The Big Read poll of the UK's "best-loved novel." 2] Following The Forsyte Saga, Galsworthy would go on to write two more trilogies and several more interludes also based around the titular family; the resulting series is collectively called The Forsyte Chronicles.
Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Carte Paperback (7) 5273 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1936 lei  5-7 zile
  Dover Publications Inc. – 30 Nov 2018 5273 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1936 lei  5-7 zile
  Oxford University Press – 10 Jul 2008 6472 lei  Economic 10-14 zile +1799 lei  5-7 zile
  Penguin Books – 27 Sep 2001 7367 lei  Economic 14-26 zile
  Penguin Books – 27 Sep 2001 8146 lei  Economic 14-26 zile +1939 lei  5-7 zile
  Penguin Books – 27 Sep 2001 8195 lei  Economic 14-26 zile +1986 lei  5-7 zile
  11880 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +930 lei  12-20 zile
  CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform – 13077 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1028 lei  12-20 zile
Carte Hardback (1) 21276 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +2399 lei  12-20 zile
  Arkose Press – 29 Sep 2015 21276 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +2399 lei  12-20 zile

Preț: 5273 lei

Preț vechi: 6403 lei

Puncte Express: 79

Preț estimativ în valută:
1055 1175$ 929£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 07-21 iunie
Livrare express 29-31 mai pentru 2935 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76


ISBN-13: 9780486828404
ISBN-10: 0486828409
Pagini: 704
Dimensiuni: 128 x 221 x 4 mm
Greutate: 0.45 kg
Editura: Dover Publications Inc.

Notă biografică

Geoffrey Harvey is Senior Lecturer in English at Reading University. He is also the editor of Trollope's Mr Scarborough's Family, The Bertrams, and Marion Fay in World's Classics.