Cantitate/Preț
Produs

The Edge of the Water: Boy or Beast (Edge of Nowhere, nr. 02)

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Hardback – 11 Mar 2014 – vârsta de la 12 până la 17 ani
A mysterious girl who won’t speak; a coal black seal named Nera that returns to the same place very year; a bitter feud of unknown origin—strange things are happening on Whidbey Island, and Becca King, is drawn into the maelstrom of events.

But Becca, first met in The Edge of Nowhere, has her own secrets to hide. Still on the run from her criminal stepfather,  Becca is living in a secret location. Even Derric, the Ugandan orphan with whom Becca shares a close, romantic relationship, can’t be allowed to know her whereabouts.

As secrets of past and present are revealed,  Becca becomes aware of her growing paranormal powers,  and events build to a shocking climax anticipated by no one.

Acclaimed author Elizabeth George brings her extraordinary talents to this intriguing story that blends mystery and  myth.
Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Carte Paperback (2) 3840 lei  Economic 17-29 zile +1091 lei  3-7 zile
  Hodder & Stoughton – 25 Sep 2014 3840 lei  Economic 17-29 zile +1091 lei  3-7 zile
  SPEAK – 07 Apr 2015 6119 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +464 lei  10-18 zile
Carte Hardback (1) 12815 lei  Economic 10-16 zile +1089 lei  4-11 zile
  Penguin Books – 11 Mar 2014 12815 lei  Economic 10-16 zile +1089 lei  4-11 zile

Din seria Edge of Nowhere

Preț: 12815 lei

Puncte Express: 192

Preț estimativ în valută:
2564 2861$ 2244£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 31 mai-06 iunie
Livrare express 25 mai-01 iunie pentru 2088 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9780670012978
ISBN-10: 0670012971
Pagini: 440
Dimensiuni: 149 x 215 x 36 mm
Greutate: 0.56 kg
Editura: Penguin Books
Colecția Viking
Seriile Viking , Edge of Nowhere


Recenzii

Praise for Edge of Nowhere:

“George has created an interesting set of characters and plot twists that teenagers who like adventure and mysteries will enjoy."—School Library Journal

“...strong appeal to fans of Beth Kephart and Nancy Werlin.” —BCCB

"In her first foray into YA fiction, Ms George (a beloved adult suspense novelist) has hit the nail on the proverbial head with this action-packed, mysterious, and somewhat 'creepy' novel . . . the writing is superb from Ms. George, as always but . . . it's the combination of great characters and relationships that truly have this novel raising the bar when it comes to today's YA fiction."—Suspense Magazine

Notă biografică

Elizabeth George is the author of the bestselling crime novels about Inspector Thomas Lynley, as well as The Edge of Nowhere, her first young adult novel, which was a finalist for both the Edgar and the Agatha awards.   Ms. George’s novels are notable for their incisive characterization and their complex, multi-layered plots.

Elizabeth George lives on Whidbey Island, where both The Edge of Nowhere and The Edge of the Water are set.  She says, “Whidbey Island asks to be ‘someone’ in a story. I only hope I’ve done it justice.” Two more coming-of-age novels in the Whidbey Island sequence will follow.

Visit her at www.elizabethgeorgeonline.com

Extras

     In the other boat, Annie Taylor suddenly put her hand on Chad Pederson’s arm. She said, “Chad, look,” and they all followed her gaze. The seal had actually come between the two boats, putting herself so close that any one of them could have touched her.
     Becca was astonished by the seal’s strange beauty, every part of her black. Her sleek skin, her eyes, her nose, her whiskers…The only thing about her that wasn’t black was her teeth, and these became visible when she barked a greeting.
     That prompted Ivar, who said, “Back away. Your boat’ll crush her,” to Chad.
     At the same moment, Annie said, “Wait a minute! She’s got a transmitter on!”
To Becca it looked like an old garage door opener fastened to the black seal’s skin. She squinted at it and heard Annie saying, “It looks glued to her neck. Glued, Chad, glued!”
     Nera finally dove beneath the water, disappearing from view. She resurfaced some two hundred yards away. She was heading at that point back out into the passage.
     Annie Taylor looked from the seal to Ivar. She said, “You know something about that transmitter, don’t you? You know why she has it on. And you know why she hasn’t lost it, don’t you?”
     Ivar’s reply was “I don’t know nothing.”
     But Becca could tell that he was lying.