The Book of Evidence (Frames)

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Paperback – 05 Mar 2010

Frederick Charles St John Vanderveld Montgomery. Do you swear to tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth? Don't make me laugh.

Freddie Montgomery has committed two crimes. He stole a Dutch old-master painting from a wealthy family friend and murdered the chambermaid who caught him in the act. Narcissistic, greedy and reckless, Freddie travels through life apparently without remorse. However, as he narrates his testimony, he realizes that the only person to be held responsible for his life, and his crimes, is himself. He just can't quite admit it yet . . .

Shortlisted for the 1989 Booker Prize, The Book of Evidence is a wonderfully dark, insightful and unnerving crime novel. Taking us into the unreliable mind of an improbable murderer, it is a deeply lyrical exploration of the human mind.

'Remarkable . . . If all crime novels were like this one, there would no longer be the need for a genre' Ruth Rendell
'A major work of fiction in which every suave moment calmly detonates to show the murderous gleam within. Banville writes a dangers and clear-running prose and has a grim gift of seeing people's souls' Don DeLillo
Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Paperback (2) 4398 lei  3-5 săpt. +2389 lei  4-10 zile
  Pan Macmillan – 05 Mar 2010 4398 lei  3-5 săpt. +2389 lei  4-10 zile
  Pan Macmillan – 09 Oct 2014 4605 lei  3-5 săpt. +3165 lei  4-10 zile

Din seria Frames

Preț: 4398 lei

Preț vechi: 6484 lei

Puncte Express: 66

Preț estimativ în valută:
847 819$ 764£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 18 octombrie-01 noiembrie
Livrare express 01-07 octombrie pentru 3388 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76


ISBN-13: 9780330371872
ISBN-10: 0330371878
Pagini: 224
Dimensiuni: 132 x 198 x 14 mm
Greutate: 0.15 kg
Editura: Pan Macmillan
Colecția Frames
Seria Frames

Locul publicării: United Kingdom

Notă biografică

John Banville was born in Wexford, Ireland, in 1945. His first book, Long Lankin, was published in 1970. His other highly acclaimed books include Nightspawn, Birchwood, Doctor Copernicus (which won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize in 1976), Kepler (which was awarded the Guardian Fiction Prize in 1981), The Newton Letter, Mefisto, Ghosts, Athena, The Untouchable, Eclipse, Shroud and the Man Booker Prize-winning The Sea. He has received a literary award from the Lannan Foundation. He lives in Dublin.