Cantitate/Preț
Produs
Update 23 martie - COVID-19 - Informații privind activitatea Books Express

My Name is Eva: An absolutely gripping and emotional historical novel

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Paperback – 11 Sep 2019

You can pay a terrible price for keeping a promise...

Evelyn Taylor-Clarke sits in her chair at Forest Lawns Care Home in the heart of the English countryside, surrounded by residents with minds not as sharp as hers. It would be easy to dismiss Evelyn as a muddled old woman, but her lipstick is applied perfectly, and her buttons done up correctly. Because Evelyn is a woman with secrets and Evelyn remembers everything. She can never forget the promise she made to the love of her life, to discover the truth about the mission that led to his death, no matter what it cost her...

When Evelyn's niece Pat opens an old biscuit tin to find a photo of a small girl with a red ball entitled 'Liese, 1951' and a passport in another name, she has some questions for her aunt. And Evelyn is transported back to a place in Germany known as 'The Forbidden Village, ' where a woman who called herself Eva went where no one else dared, amongst shivering prisoners, to find the man who gambled with her husband's life...

A gripping, haunting and compelling read about love, courage and betrayal set in the war-battered landscape of Germany. Fans of The Letter, The Alice Network and The Nightingale will be hooked.

Readers are hooked on My Name is Eva:

'Could not put this book down, and heaven help anyone that tried to disturb my reading ...I absolutely loved this book ...I laughed, I cried, I cheered, I sympathized all because of Evelyn...I could so picture the setting and as Evelyn sets out to fool everyone, I thought you go girl ...I don't want to say anything else but what a fantastic read...My first, not my last book by Suzanne Goldring. I can't recommend this book enough ' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'A phenomenal story of courage, love, murder and all the atrocities that go with war.Eva is an extraordinary character, strong, loyal, smart, funny, loving, and brave.A phenomenal read 'Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'This may be my new favorite book I absolutely love the premise of the heroine faking dementia in her retirement home to cover up her knowledge of questionable activities centering around WWII events. The tempo of this novel was perfect--kept me wondering until the very last page ' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'Absolutely loved this book and its riveting plot ... The author has successfully penned a debut novel that I would highly recommend without any hesitation. An excellent debut novel from Suzanne Goldring and I look forward to reading more of her work. Historical fiction is my favourite genre to read and this book was every bit as good as some of the well-known WW2-themed titles published in recent years.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'A poignant and evocative story of love, betrayal and bravery that kept me page turning and completely engrossed from start to finish. Loved it and would definitely recommend.' NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars

Citește tot Restrânge

Preț: 6360 lei

Puncte Express: 95

Preț estimativ în valută:
1243 1459$ 1124£

Carte indisponibilă temporar

Doresc să fiu notificat când acest titlu va fi disponibil:

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9781786819697
ISBN-10: 1786819694
Pagini: 324
Dimensiuni: 127 x 196 x 18 mm
Greutate: 0.34 kg
Editura: BOOKOUTURE