Last Night In The Or: A Transplant Surgeon's Odyssey

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Paperback – 30 Sep 2015

For readers of Henry Marsh's "Do No Harm," Paul A. Ruggieri's "Confessions of a Surgeon," " "and Atul Gawande's "Better" -- a pioneering surgeon shares memories from a life in one of surgery s most demanding fields
The 1980s marked a revolution in the field of organ transplants, and Bud Shaw, M.D., who studied under Tom Starzl in Pittsburgh, was on the front lines. Now retired from active practice, Dr. Shaw relays gripping moments of anguish and elation, frustration and reward, despair and hope in his struggle to save patients. He reveals harshly intimate moments of his medical career: telling a patient's husband that his wife has died during surgery; struggling to complete a twenty-hour operation as mental and physical exhaustion inch closer and closer; and flying to retrieve a donor organ while the patient waits in the operating room. Within these more emotionally charged vignettes are quieter ones, too, like growing up in rural Ohio, and being awakened late at night by footsteps in the hall as his father, also a surgeon, slipped out of the house to attend to a patient in the ER.
In the tradition of Mary Roach, Jerome Groopman, Eric Topol, and Atul Gawande, "Last Night in the OR "is an exhilarating, fast-paced, and beautifully written memoir, ""one thatwill captivate readers with its courage, intimacy, and honesty."

Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Carte Paperback (1) 6227 lei  Economic 19-25 zile +2087 lei  6-10 zile
  Penguin Random House Group – 30 Sep 2015 6227 lei  Economic 19-25 zile +2087 lei  6-10 zile
CD-Audio (2) 13028 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1339 lei  11-17 zile
  Tantor Audio – 28 Sep 2015 13028 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1339 lei  11-17 zile
  Tantor Audio – 28 Sep 2015 17318 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1688 lei  11-17 zile

Preț: 6227 lei

Preț vechi: 7384 lei

Puncte Express: 93

Preț estimativ în valută:
1271 1568$ 1123£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 05-11 aprilie
Livrare express 23-27 martie pentru 3086 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76


ISBN-13: 9780147515339
ISBN-10: 0147515335
Pagini: 292
Dimensiuni: 135 x 203 x 15 mm
Greutate: 0.18 kg
Editura: Penguin Random House Group
Colecția Plume
Locul publicării: New York, United States