Cantitate/Preț
Produs

Last Night In The Or: A Transplant Surgeon's Odyssey

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Paperback – 30 Sep 2015

For readers of Henry Marsh's "Do No Harm," Paul A. Ruggieri's "Confessions of a Surgeon," " "and Atul Gawande's "Better" -- a pioneering surgeon shares memories from a life in one of surgery s most demanding fields
The 1980s marked a revolution in the field of organ transplants, and Bud Shaw, M.D., who studied under Tom Starzl in Pittsburgh, was on the front lines. Now retired from active practice, Dr. Shaw relays gripping moments of anguish and elation, frustration and reward, despair and hope in his struggle to save patients. He reveals harshly intimate moments of his medical career: telling a patient's husband that his wife has died during surgery; struggling to complete a twenty-hour operation as mental and physical exhaustion inch closer and closer; and flying to retrieve a donor organ while the patient waits in the operating room. Within these more emotionally charged vignettes are quieter ones, too, like growing up in rural Ohio, and being awakened late at night by footsteps in the hall as his father, also a surgeon, slipped out of the house to attend to a patient in the ER.
In the tradition of Mary Roach, Jerome Groopman, Eric Topol, and Atul Gawande, "Last Night in the OR "is an exhilarating, fast-paced, and beautifully written memoir, ""one thatwill captivate readers with its courage, intimacy, and honesty."

Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Carte Paperback (1) 6379 lei  Economic 14-26 zile +1178 lei  7-11 zile
  Penguin Random House Group – 30 Sep 2015 6379 lei  Economic 14-26 zile +1178 lei  7-11 zile
CD-Audio (2) 13305 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1046 lei  13-20 zile
  Tantor Audio – 29 Sep 2015 13305 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1046 lei  13-20 zile
  Tantor Audio – 29 Sep 2015 17775 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1411 lei  13-20 zile

Preț: 6379 lei

Preț vechi: 7178 lei
-11%

Puncte Express: 96

Preț estimativ în valută:
1305 1537$ 1166£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 05-17 octombrie
Livrare express 28 septembrie-02 octombrie pentru 2177 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9780147515339
ISBN-10: 0147515335
Pagini: 292
Dimensiuni: 135 x 203 x 15 mm
Greutate: 0.22 kg
Editura: Penguin Random House Group
Colecția Plume
Locul publicării: New York, United States