Cantitate/Preț
Produs

Land of Broken Promises

Autor Jane Kuo
en Limba Engleză Hardback – 6 iun 2023 – vârsta până la 12 ani
Taiwanese immigrant Anna and her family make a shocking discovery that puts their American dreams at risk in this searing companion to In the Beautiful Country, which Gene Luen Yang called “vivid and hopeful.”
After a rocky first year, Anna’s family have settled into life in California—their small restaurant is even turning a profit. Then her parents make a shattering discovery: their visas have expired.
Anna’s world is quickly overwhelmed by unfamiliar words like “undocumented” and “inequality.” She longs to share the towering secret that looms over every aspect of her life with a friend, but her parents strictly forbid her from telling anyone.
As Anna grapples with the complexities of being undocumented, the strain that it places on her family, and the loneliness of keeping it all to herself, she has to wonder—if America is the promised land, why does everything she’s hoped for feel like a lie?
Perfect for fans of Kelly Yang, Reem Faruqi, and Jasmine Warga, this middle grade novel in verse, inspired by the author’s own experiences, focuses on themes of legal documentation, identity, and language’s ability to divide and unite. 
Citește tot Restrânge

Preț: 9373 lei

Puncte Express: 141

Preț estimativ în valută:
1794 1918$ 1516£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 13-27 iulie
Livrare express 29 iunie-05 iulie pentru 4814 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9780063119048
ISBN-10: 0063119048
Pagini: 240
Dimensiuni: 140 x 210 mm
Greutate: 0.32 kg
Editura: HarperCollins Publishers
Colecția Quill Tree Books

Notă biografică

Jane Kuo is a Chinese and Taiwanese American writer who grew up in Los Angeles in the 1980s. Jane's novels, In the Beautiful Country and Land of Broken Promises are fictional stories inspired by the weekends and summers she spent working in her family's fast food restaurant. Please visit her online at www.janekuo.com.