Cantitate/Preț
Produs

How to Believe

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Hardback – 19 Nov 2015
In Why Believe? (Continuum) Professor John Cottingham argued that every human being possesses impulses and aspirations for which religious belief offers a home. His new book, How to Believe is concerned not so much with why we should believe as with what leads a person to become a believer. Cottingham challenges believers and non-believers alike to think afresh about the need to change their lives and about what such change might involve.
Citește tot Restrânge

Preț: 8699 lei

Preț vechi: 10990 lei
-21%

Puncte Express: 130

Preț estimativ în valută:
1674 1980$ 1431£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 08-22 octombrie

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9781472907448
ISBN-10: 1472907442
Pagini: 176
Dimensiuni: 135 x 216 x 13 mm
Greutate: 0.3 kg
Editura: Bloomsbury Publishing
Colecția Bloomsbury Continuum
Locul publicării: London, United Kingdom

Caracteristici

Wide philosophy and religion market for this book - this is for the Dawkins, Philip Pullman, Hitchens, Grayling market as much as for readers of Rowan Williams and Jonathan Sacks.

Notă biografică

John Cottingham is Emeritus Professor of Philosophy at Reading University and a Fellow of Heythrop College and St John's College, Oxford. A world authority on Descartes, he has published a number of works on the philosopher. His previous books include, Why Believe? (Continuum)

Recenzii

A beautifully written and nuanced defence of religious belief as a transformative practice rather than a set of intellectual doctrines. Written by one of Britain's leading philosophers, this is a careful and sensitive exploration of the deep nature of religious understanding.
A lucid and often moving account of the nature of religious belief, of the habits involved in acquiring it, and of its place in the life of the believer. Written by a highly cultivated philosopher in language that comes from the heart, this book defines a place in the psyche that can still be defended against the scepticism, cynicism and scientism of our times.
This mature reflection on the nature of religious belief by a distinguished philosopher is to be highly commended. It contains much food for thought for believers interested in apologetics, and, being very accessible, would also serve well as a helpful gift to intelligent sceptics and enquirers.
It is hard to dispute the fundamental argument of this book ... We are offered insights into the poetry of Rilke, the music of J.S. Bach and the plays of Shakespeare. So good is the book that it seems petty to criticise