Cantitate/Preț
Produs

Happy Little Bluebirds

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Paperback – 17 May 2018
For fans of Muriel Spark, a dazzling novel about a young woman thrust into in the opulent world of 1940s Hollywood, where dirty dealings, undercover agents and off-camera romances aboundIt is September 1940 and Evelyn Murdoch, a translator from the Postal Censorship department, is uprooted from her home in wartime Woking and transferred to Hollywood. She is to assist a mysterious British agent in his attempts to outwit the Los Angeles German delegation and boost the British propaganda war effort.The unhappy young widow is supplied with a new Californian wardrobe, a Bel Air bungalow and her own desk in the writers' block of Miracle Studios.At first bewildered by the glamorous excesses of this strange new world, she is gradually seduced by the sunlight, orange groves and clever, fast-talking men. But, just as she begins to blossom, her new technicolor ending threatens to slip from her grasp.
Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Carte Paperback (2) 4613 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1158 lei  3-5 zile
  Bloomsbury Publishing – 21 Mar 2019 4613 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +1158 lei  3-5 zile
  Bloomsbury Publishing – 17 May 2018 6537 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt.
Carte Hardback (1) 7578 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +2083 lei  3-5 zile
  Bloomsbury Publishing – 17 May 2018 7578 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +2083 lei  3-5 zile

Preț: 6537 lei

Preț vechi: 7681 lei
-15%

Puncte Express: 98

Preț estimativ în valută:
1318 1486$ 1175£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 01-15 iulie

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9781408896471
ISBN-10: 1408896478
Pagini: 304
Dimensiuni: 135 x 216 x 27 mm
Greutate: 0.33 kg
Ediția: Export/Airside
Editura: Bloomsbury Publishing
Colecția Bloomsbury Publishing
Locul publicării: London, United Kingdom

Caracteristici

- Perfect for fans of Muriel Spark and Barbara Pym, this acerbic and witty novel is a cross between The Girls of Slender Means and Hail, Caesar! from the Coen brothers

Notă biografică

Louise Levene is the author of A Vision of Loveliness, a BBC Book at Bedtime, which was also longlisted for the Desmond Elliott first novel prize, Ghastly Business and The Following Girls. She is the dance critic of the Financial Times and writes for the Spectator. She has also been an advertising copywriter, a window dresser, a radio presenter, an office cleaner, a crossword editor, a university tutor, a college professor and a saleslady. Louise Levene lives in London with her husband and their two children.

Recenzii

Great fun ... As a heroine, [Evelyn] is a triumph. Orphaned and severed from her roots, she is the worthy heiress of Jane Eyre, Becky Sharp and, particularly, Flora Poste, in her steeliness, her steady eye and her use and appreciation of wit ... [Happy Little Bluebirds] is a bit of a romp, full of sharp one-liners and acerbic apercus, the kind of novel that makes you want to read paragraphs out to strangers, to share the joy
For the perfect piece of Bank Holiday escapism, look no further . A whip-smart comedy, chock-full with glamour, secret agents and sun-drenched Californian orange groves - seriously, what could be more heavenly?
Brilliant
[Levene] fires out a wisecrack a page ... Very much satire in the Evelyn Waugh vein
A book to set you up for summer? This hyper-witty, sharp-eyed escapist comic thriller will hit the holiday spot with style. Read it slowly. Levene's elaborate epithets and contrived gags are not to be gobbled down. In fact, her dazzling whip-smart dialogue and acid asides make Dorothy Parker sound like a dullard. This is a novel of exquisite creative vignettes, colourful, charming and outrageous in turns . [A] bold evocation of a golden world
She writes with such energy and panache
Levene is a zesty storyteller and a master of the needle-sharp one-liner
Levene has a pitch-perfect ear for dialogue
Levene's sharply observed comedy mixes affectionate satire of the stylistic oddities of the time with an invigorating sparkle of real dislike for authority
A seamless knack for drawing characters that fully inhabit their historical setting
Levene is a gifted writer with a cinematic way with words