Cantitate/Preț
Produs
Update 23 martie - COVID-19 - Informații privind activitatea Books Express

Gretel and the Dark (Hamish Hamilton)

De (autor)
Notă Books Express:  5.00 · o notă  
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Hardback – 06 Feb 2014
Gretel and the Dark is Eliza Granville's dazzling novel of darkness, evil - and hope.
For fans of Markus Zusak's The Book Thief and Guillermo del Toro's Pan's Labyrinth.

Vienna, 1899. Josef Breuer - celebrated psychoanalyst - is about to encounter his strangest case yet. Found by the lunatic asylum, thin, head shaved, she claims to have no name, no feelings - to be, in fact, not even human. Intrigued, Breuer determines to fathom the roots of her disturbance.
Years later, in Germany, we meet Krysta. Krysta's Papa is busy working in the infirmary with the 'animal people', so little Krysta plays alone, lost in the stories of Hansel and Gretel, the Pied Piper, and more. And when everything changes and the real world around her becomes as frightening as any fairy tale, Krysta finds that her imagination holds powers beyond what she could have ever guessed . . .
Eliza Granville was born in Worcestershire and now lives in the Welsh Marches. She has had a life-long fascination with the enduring quality of fairytales and their symbolism, and the idea for Gretel and the Dark was sparked when she became interested in the emphasis placed on these stories during the Third Reich.
Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Paperback (2) 8213 lei  Economic 12-16 zile +685 lei  1-2 săpt.
  Penguin Books – 26 Feb 2015 8213 lei  Economic 12-16 zile +685 lei  1-2 săpt.
  Riverhead Books – 19 Jan 2016 10617 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +812 lei  13-21 zile

Preț: 8144 lei

Preț vechi: 9426 lei
-14%

Puncte Express: 122

Preț estimativ în valută:
1602 1763$ 1439£

Cartea se retipărește

Doresc să fiu notificat când acest titlu va fi disponibil:

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9780241146453
ISBN-10: 0241146453
Pagini: 357
Dimensiuni: 144 x 206 x 33 mm
Greutate: 0.45 kg
Editura: Penguin Books
Colecția Hamish Hamilton
Seria Hamish Hamilton

Locul publicării: London, United Kingdom

Notă biografică

Eliza Granville was born in Worcestershire and now lives in the Welsh Marches. She has had a life-long fascination with the enduring quality of fairytales and their symbolism, and the idea for Gretel and the Dark was sparked when she became interested in the emphasis placed on these stories during the Third Reich.

Recenzii

Powerful, heartbreaking, heart-racing, terrifying . . . It is impossible not to find yourself racing through the pages
Atmospheric and beautifully written. Gretel and the Dark will be one of the best books of 2014
Dark and intriguing . . . a highly clever, original book
Ambitious and enticing
Truly beautiful writing. Read this book
A back-and-forth tale of secrets and imagination, a thoroughly engaging journey into the darkest corners of humanity
As dark and twisting as the Black Forest . . . forbidding, secretive, richly historical, this is a gripping novel that will leave you guessing until the end
This combination of history, mystery and fairy tale makes for engrossing and irresistible reading - right up to the ultimately redemptive final twist
Grips and shakes the reader from beginning to end. Like so many fairy tales, nothing is what it seems and attention must be paid for the greatest rewards
Extraordinary. Granville's writing and world building are beautiful.