Cantitate/Preț
Produs

Cash Crash Jubilee: Book One of the Jubilee Cycle (Jubilee Cycle)

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Paperback – 03 May 2016
In a near future Tokyo, every action—from blinking to sexual intercourse—is intellectual property owned by corporations that charge licensing fees. A BodyBank computer system implanted in each citizen records their movements from moment to moment, and connects them to the audio-visual overlay of the ImmaNet, so that every inch of this cyber-dystopian metropolis crawls with information and shifting cinematic promotainment.

Amon Kenzaki works as a Liquidator for the Global Action Transaction Authority. His job is to capture bankrupt citizens, remove their BodyBank, and banish them to BankDeath Camps where they are forever cut off from the action-transaction economy. Amon always plays by the rules and is steadily climbing the Liquidation Ministry ladder.

With his savings accumulating and another promotion coming, everything seems to be going well, until he is asked to cash crash a charismatic politician and model citizen, and soon after is charged for an incredibly expensive action called “jubilee” that he is sure he never performed. To restore balance to his account, Amon must unravel the secret of jubilee, but quickly finds himself asking dangerous questions about the system to which he’s devoted his life, and the costly investigation only drags him closer and closer to the pit of bankruptcy.

In book one of the Jubilee Cycle, Cash Crash Jubilee, debut novelist Eli K. P. William wields the incisive power of speculative fiction to show how, in a world of corporate finance run amok, one man will do everything for the sake of truth and justice.

Skyhorse Publishing, under our Night Shade and Talos imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of titles for readers interested in science fiction (space opera, time travel, hard SF, alien invasion, near-future dystopia), fantasy (grimdark, sword and sorcery, contemporary urban fantasy, steampunk, alternative history), and horror (zombies, vampires, and the occult and supernatural), and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller, a national bestseller, or a Hugo or Nebula award-winner, we are committed to publishing quality books from a diverse group of authors.
Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Carte Paperback (1) 6674 lei  Economic 20-32 zile
  Talos – 03 May 2016 6674 lei  Economic 20-32 zile
Carte Hardback (1) 10500 lei  Economic 20-32 zile +4356 lei  12-19 zile
  Talos – 05 May 2015 10500 lei  Economic 20-32 zile +4356 lei  12-19 zile

Din seria Jubilee Cycle

Preț: 6674 lei

Preț vechi: 8184 lei
-18%

Puncte Express: 100

Preț estimativ în valută:
1335 1502$ 1155£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 10-22 mai

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9781940456621
ISBN-10: 1940456622
Pagini: 392
Dimensiuni: 152 x 229 x 28 mm
Greutate: 0.45 kg
Editura: Talos
Colecția Talos
Seria Jubilee Cycle


Notă biografică

Eli K. P. William, a native of Toronto, currently works in Tokyo as a Japanese-English translator. He has also written for the Japan Times, Now Magazine, and the Pacific Rim Review of Books. Cash Crash Jubilee is his first novel.

Recenzii

"Debut novelist William reverses the outsider perspective of cyberpunk in this
intricate tale of a digitally claustrophobic future."
Publishers Weekly

“Eli K. P. William’s book is prophetic and chilling in the best of ways, darkly sardonic yet filled with compassion.”
—Gordon Dahlquist, author of The Glass Book of the Dream Eaters

Cash Crash Jubilee is a roller-coaster ride of action and political speculation, all set against a vivid urban backdrop lit by total corporate domination of human life. Writing in the tradition of Dick and Gibson, Eli K. P. William leverages the details of near-future dystopian Tokyo to superb critical effect. A terrific debut!”
—Mark Kingwell, author of Concrete Reveries and The World We Want

“What is truly phenomenal about Cash Crash Jubilee, and what has held my attention, is the world building. Everything is explained, described, or illustrated in a way that makes sure the reader is never confused, but that also doesn’t hinder the development of the plot in any way. It’s an action-packed techno thriller. And after reading it, I’ll never take something as simple as staring up at the night sky for granted again.”
BookRiot

“Combines 1984’s brutal totalitarianism and Brave New World’s seductive consumerism. Its premise is both horrifying and ridiculous. Is it a satire or a thriller? It works brilliantly as either.”
—John Love, author of Faith and Evensong

“A stunning debut novel, a glorious and disturbing view of a strange new world that could easily become our new world. Fans of Neal Stephenson and William Gibson will find much to enjoy in Cash Crash Jubilee.”
—Wayne Arthurson, author of Fall From Grace and A Killing Winter

"As entertaining as the works by American-Canadian science fiction giant William Gibson."
Japan Times

"Cash Crash Jubilee is utterly fascinating, from cover to cover... a trove of insanity and wonder, all in one place."
BiblioSanctum

"Readers will want to know what "Jubilee" really means just as much as Amon.Just remember to get to sleep and avoid being 'discreditible.'"
—Yomiuri Shimbun, The Japan News

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
—SF???? (2015?10??)

"The defining dystopia for our time."
—Barnes & Noble Sci Fi & Fantasy Blog

"Cash Crash Jubilee is a story that deserves your undivided attention."
Scifi Gazette

"A one-way bullet train into a bizarre but chillingly plausible future. A brilliant debut!"
—Jesse Bullington, author of The Sad Tale of the Brothers Grossbart and The Folly of the World
 
Cash Crash Jubilee is an unheralded gem of new wave cyberpunk.”
B&N Science Fiction & Fantasy Blog

"Debut novelist William reverses the outsider perspective of cyberpunk in this
intricate tale of a digitally claustrophobic future."
Publishers Weekly

“Eli K. P. William’s book is prophetic and chilling in the best of ways, darkly sardonic yet filled with compassion.”
—Gordon Dahlquist, author of The Glass Book of the Dream Eaters

Cash Crash Jubilee is a roller-coaster ride of action and political speculation, all set against a vivid urban backdrop lit by total corporate domination of human life. Writing in the tradition of Dick and Gibson, Eli K. P. William leverages the details of near-future dystopian Tokyo to superb critical effect. A terrific debut!”
—Mark Kingwell, author of Concrete Reveries and The World We Want

“What is truly phenomenal about Cash Crash Jubilee, and what has held my attention, is the world building. Everything is explained, described, or illustrated in a way that makes sure the reader is never confused, but that also doesn’t hinder the development of the plot in any way. It’s an action-packed techno thriller. And after reading it, I’ll never take something as simple as staring up at the night sky for granted again.”
BookRiot

“Combines 1984’s brutal totalitarianism and Brave New World’s seductive consumerism. Its premise is both horrifying and ridiculous. Is it a satire or a thriller? It works brilliantly as either.”
—John Love, author of Faith and Evensong

“A stunning debut novel, a glorious and disturbing view of a strange new world that could easily become our new world. Fans of Neal Stephenson and William Gibson will find much to enjoy in Cash Crash Jubilee.”
—Wayne Arthurson, author of Fall From Grace and A Killing Winter