Cantitate/Preț
Produs

Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Paperback – 04 Jan 2011
The bestselling history of and investigation into human error by beloved New Yorker writer Kathryn Schulz
“Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it.”
—Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet

In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational, Being Wrong explores what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever.
Citește tot Restrânge

Preț: 7707 lei

Recomandat

Puncte Express: 116

Preț estimativ în valută:
1575 1933$ 1375£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 05-19 mai
Livrare express 02-08 mai pentru 1906 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9780061176050
ISBN-10: 0061176052
Pagini: 416
Dimensiuni: 135 x 203 x 24 mm
Greutate: 0.34 kg
Editura: HARPERCOLLINS;
Colecția Ecco

Textul de pe ultima copertă

To err is human. Yet most of us go through life assuming (and sometimes insisting) that we are right about nearly everything, from the origins of the universe to how to load the dishwasher. In Being Wrong, journalist Kathryn Schulz explores why we find it so gratifying to be right and so maddening to be mistaken. Drawing on thinkers as varied as Augustine, Darwin, Freud, Gertrude Stein, Alan Greenspan, and Groucho Marx, she shows that error is both a given and a gift—one that can transform our worldviews, our relationships, and ourselves.

Recenzii

“A mirthful and wise diagnosis of what ails us: Schulz dances us through science, psychology, and literature in a sparkling history of (and ode to) human error.”
“[A]n insightful and delightful discussion of the errors of our ways. . . . Schulz remains good company -- a warm, witty and welcome presence. . . . [S]he combines lucid prose with perfect comic timing. . . . Being Wrong is smart and lively.”
“So, please take this advice: Read BEING WRONG, because it’s the right thing to do.”
“Kathryn Schulz’s brilliant, spirited, and necessary inquiry into the essential humanity of error will leave you feeling intoxicatingly wrongheaded.”
“[A]n unusual examination of the virtue and peril of being wrong and of all the ways we think we know things that just ain’t so.”
“Engrossing.... In the spirit of Blink and Predictably Irrational (but with a large helping of erudition)... Schulz writes with such lucidity and wit that her philosophical enquiry becomes a page-turner.”
“Kathryn Schulz has given us a brilliant and remarkably upbeat account of the long history of human error. If Being Wrong is this smart and illuminating, I don’t want to be right!”
“Kathryn Schultz is engaging, witty and fascinating as she uses a full arsenal of academic research, colorful stories, philosophical arguments and personal anecdotes to create a riveting account of why we, mostly, have been wrong about being wrong.”
“Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise...[BEING WRONG] could also be enormously useful—there are very few problems we face...that couldn’t be helpfully addressed if we we were willing to at least entertain the idea that we might not be entirely right.”
“A funny and philosophical meditation on why error is mostly a humane, courageous and extremely desirable human trait. [Schulz] flies high in the intellectual skies, leaving beautiful sunlit contrails....It’s lovely to watch this idea warm in Ms. Schulz’s hands.”
“Schulz possesses playfulness even as she brings the reader to tears... Being Wrong has a heartbeat.”
“Intellectualism made fun! . . . Schulz’s call to embrace flaws and errors as potentially beneficial will surely draw legions of follwers.”
“Schulz draws on philosophers, neuroscientists, psychoanalysts and bit of common sense in an erudite, playful rumination on error.”
“An amazing book. . . . I don’t know when I last read a book as stimulating, as thoughtful, and as much fun to read.”
"Schulz possesses playfulness even as she brings the reader to tears... "Being Wrong" has a heartbeat."--Huffington Post