A Wonder Book for Girls and Boys

Autor Nathaniel Hawthorne
en Limba Engleză Paperback – feb 2021 – vârsta până la 12 ani
"I mean to write the Story of Midas, with his Golden Touch, Pandora's Box, The Adventure of Hercules in quest of the Golden Apples, Bellerophon and the Chimaera, Baucis and Philemon, Perseus and Medusa; these, I think, will be enough to make up a volume. As a framework, I shall have a young college-student telling these stories to his cousins and brothers and sisters, during his vacations, sometimes in the woods and dells. Unless I greatly mistake, these old fictions will work up admirably for the purpose; and I shall aim at substituting a tone in some degree Gothic or romantic, or any such tone as may best please myself, instead of the classic coldness which is as repellant as the touch of marble. . . ." -- Nathaniel Hawthorne The stories in A Wonder-Book for Girls and Boys are all stories within a story, the frame story being that a Williams College student, Eustace Bright, is telling these tales to a group of children at Tanglewood, an area in Lenox, Massachusetts, where Hawthorne lived for a time."
Citește tot Restrânge

Toate formatele și edițiile

Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Paperback (4) 3564 lei  3-5 săpt.
  Mint Editions – feb 2021 3564 lei  3-5 săpt.
  CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform – 5141 lei  3-5 săpt.
  Aegypan Press – iul 2006 7271 lei  6-8 săpt.
  LIGHTNING SOURCE INC – 27 mai 2018 9958 lei  17-23 zile
Hardback (1) 6617 lei  3-5 săpt.
  Mint Editions – 16 feb 2021 6617 lei  3-5 săpt.

Preț: 3564 lei

Puncte Express: 53

Preț estimativ în valută:
682 742$ 583£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 11-25 iunie

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76


ISBN-13: 9781513269108
ISBN-10: 1513269100
Pagini: 128
Dimensiuni: 127 x 203 x 8 mm
Greutate: 0.15 kg
Editura: Mint Editions

Notă biografică

Nathaniel Hawthorne (1804 - 1864) was an American novelist, dark romantic and short story writer. He was born in 1804 in Salem, Massachusetts to Nathaniel Hathorne and the former Elizabeth Clarke Manning. His ancestors include John Hathorne, the only judge involved in the Salem witch trials who never repented of his actions. He entered Bowdoin College in 1821, was elected to Phi Beta Kappa in 1824 and graduated in 1825. He published his first work in 1828, the novel Fanshawe; he later tried to suppress it, feeling that it was not equal to the standard of his later work. He published several short stories in periodicals, which he collected in 1837 as Twice-Told Tales. The next year, he became engaged to Sophia Peabody. He worked at the Boston Custom House and joined Brook Farm, a transcendentalist community, before marrying Peabody in 1842. The Scarlet Letter was published in 1850, followed by a succession of other novels. A political appointment as consul took Hawthorne and family to Europe before their return to Concord in 1860. Hawthorne died on May 19, 1864, and was survived by his wife and their three children. Much of Hawthorne's writing centers on New England, many works featuring moral metaphors with an anti-Puritan inspiration. His fiction works are considered part of the Romantic movement and, more specifically, dark romanticism. His themes often center on the inherent evil and sin of humanity and his works often have moral messages and deep psychological complexity. His published works include novels, short stories and a biography of his college friend Franklin Pierce, the 14th President of the United States.