Cantitate/Preț
Produs

A Long Petal of the Sea: 'Allende's finest book yet' – now a Sunday Times bestseller

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Paperback – 21 Jan 2020

That September 2, 1939, the day of the Spanish exiles' splendid arrival in Chile, the Second World War broke out in Europe.Victor Dalmau is a young doctor when he is caught up in the Spanish Civil War, a tragedy that leaves his life - and the fate of his country - forever changed. Together with his sister-in-law, the pianist Roser Bruguera, he is forced out of his beloved Barcelona and into exile. When opportunity to seek refuge in Chile arises, they take it, boarding a ship chartered by the poet Pablo Neruda to the promised 'long petal of sea and wine and snow' over the seas. There, they find themselves enmeshed in a rich web of characters who come together in love and tragedy over the course of four generations, destined to witness the battle between freedom and repression as it plays out across the world.A masterful work of historical fiction about hope, exile and belonging, A Long Petal of the Sea is Isabel Allende at the height of her powers.

Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Paperback (4) 7183 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +4741 lei  1-2 săpt.
  Bloomsbury Publishing – 21 Jan 2020 7183 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +4741 lei  1-2 săpt.
  Random House – 21 Jan 2020 10034 lei  Economic 19-25 zile +743 lei  7-12 zile
  Bloomsbury Publishing – 05 Jan 2021 3904 lei  Precomandă
  Bloomsbury Publishing – 11 Mar 2021 4902 lei  Precomandă
Hardback (2) 8670 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +2930 lei  7-12 zile
  Bloomsbury Publishing – 21 Jan 2020 8670 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +2930 lei  7-12 zile
  BALLANTINE BOOKS – 21 Jan 2020 12341 lei  Economic 19-25 zile +1023 lei  7-12 zile

Preț: 7183 lei

Preț vechi: 7603 lei
-6%

Puncte Express: 108

Preț estimativ în valută:
1404 1701$ 1268£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 19 decembrie 20 - 02 ianuarie 21
Livrare express 12-19 decembrie pentru 5740 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9781526615916
ISBN-10: 1526615916
Pagini: 336
Dimensiuni: 153 x 234 x 22 mm
Greutate: 0.51 kg
Editura: Bloomsbury Publishing
Colecția Bloomsbury Publishing
Locul publicării: London, United Kingdom

Caracteristici

Inspired by real people, A Long Petal of the Sea will be backed by a huge worldwide launch and publicity campaign focusing on Allende's status as a literary legend. A love letter to Chile that Allende believes is her best novel since The House of the Spirits (nearly 150,000 TCM), it is a twentieth-century Latin-American War and Peace, perfect for fans of Min Jin Lee's Pachinko, Anthony Doerr's All the Light We Cannot See and Amor Towles's A Gentleman in Moscow.

Notă biografică

Born in Peru and raised in Chile, Isabel Allende is the author of twenty-four bestselling and critically acclaimed books, including The House of the Spirits, Daughter of Fortune and City of the Beasts. A Chilean immigrant herself, Allende devotes much of her time to human rights causes and in 1996 founded the Isabel Allende Foundation. She lives in California. isabelallende.com


Recenzii

If Allende's life depended on her narrative gifts, she'd not only survive, but reign
Isabel Allende is a grand storyteller who writes with surpassing compassion and insight. Her place as an icon of world literature was secured long ago. She will be celebrated, by readers and writers alike, for generations to come
A historical saga that sweeps from the Spanish Civil War to the rise and fall of General Pinochet
Although this is fiction, Allende's epic is deeply rooted in fact, and often reads like a biography - of her homeland not least . . . [The characters] are brought alive by Allende's generous imagination and brisk, vivid prose
A decades-spanning tale of war, exile and belonging . . . Grounding the novel is the love story between Victor and Roser, all the more touching for being unconventional . . . The book is all-encompassing, both in its sweep through history and the sheer number of lives crammed into it . . . The writing is unadorned but affecting, shot through with sad details
Her latest novel, A Long Petal of the Sea, is built on a recurring theme in Allende's work: the displacement of people . . . It is difficult not to see this novel as a reminder of the endless recurrence of history, or half a million Franco refugees fleeing Spain with many interned in harsh camps in France - of people fleeing from countries in which refuge is now sought
Allende marries the fictional and the historical in lush, sprawling epics. A Long Petal of the Sea takes its place in the unparalleled canon she has created, exploring the sacrifices we make for the sake of those we love, and the love we sacrifice for the sake of our families
Allende's stories are delicate, their images akin to poetry
In this stunning historical novel, Allende traces one couple's escape from the Spanish Civil War to Chile . . . A powerful story about love and belonging - and how displacement doesn't have to mean defeat
Allende transcends the ordinary
A gripping novel for our times, this confirms - again - that Allende is a consummate storyteller . . . Historical fact is exquisitely interwoven with personal stories as families are displaced by war, torn apart and reunited. A stunning portrayal of love, courage and hope
Both an intimate look at the relationship between one man and one woman and an epic story of love, war, family and the search for home, this gorgeous novel, like all the best novels, transports the reader to another time and place, and also sheds light on the way we live now. Isabel Allende is a legend and this might be her finest book yet
Allende has everything it takes: the ear, the eye, the mind, the heart, the all-encompassing humanity
Like many of Allende's books, it features strong women, displaced people and a powerful love story spanning generations . . . Allende identifies closely with the experience of upheaval that her characters endure . . . The theme of belonging runs deeper than just a sense of nationality. It is also a sense of belonging to a family, a spouse, a group of friends
This is a novel not just for those of us who have been Allende fans for decades, but also for those who are brand new to her work: what a joy it must be to come upon Allende for the first time. She knows that all stories are love stories, and the greatest love stories are told by time