Cantitate/Preț
Produs

A Line Made By Walking

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Hardback – 16 Feb 2017
Struggling to cope with urban life - and with life in general - Frankie, a twenty-something artist, retreats to the rural bungalow on 'turbine hill' that has been vacant since her grandmother's death three years earlier. It is in this space, surrounded by nature, that she hopes to regain her footing in art and life.
Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Carte Paperback (2) 4726 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +990 lei  5-7 zile
  Random House – 22 Mar 2018 4726 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +990 lei  5-7 zile
  Houghton Mifflin Harcourt – 24 Apr 2018 77863 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +6291 lei  8-14 zile
Carte Hardback (2) 7708 lei  Economic 13-19 zile +900 lei  5-7 zile
  CORNERSTONE – 16 Feb 2017 7708 lei  Economic 13-19 zile +900 lei  5-7 zile
  Houghton Mifflin Harcourt – 18 Apr 2017 147468 lei  Economic 2-4 săpt. +11947 lei  8-14 zile

Preț: 7708 lei

Puncte Express: 116

Preț estimativ în valută:
1576 1792$ 1411£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 30 august-05 septembrie
Livrare express 22-24 august pentru 1899 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9781785150418
ISBN-10: 1785150413
Pagini: 320
Dimensiuni: 225 x 147 x 32 mm
Greutate: 0.53 kg
Editura: CORNERSTONE

Recenzii

Praise for SPILL SIMMER FALTER WITHER
An Indie Next Pick
An Indies Introduce selection
A B&N Discover Great Writers pick
Winner of the Rooney Prize for Irish Literature
WInner of the Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year Award
Short-listed for the Costa First Novel Award
Long-Listed for the Guardian First Book Award, Readers' Choice
Long-Listed for the Warwick Prize for Writing
Long-Listed for the Edinburgh First Book Award
“[A] lovely book…destined to become a small classic of animal communion literature.”—Wall Street Journal
 
“A deeply attuned portrait of the human mind…An unsettling literary surprise of the best sort. This first novel’s voice is singular in its humility and imaginative range…Baume’s novel revels in aesthetic leaps and dives, embracing the poetry of sensory experience in all its baffling beauty from the title onward…Baume’s prose makes sure we look and listen. Her book insists we take notice.”—The Atlantic

"When I finished Sara Baume's new novel I immediately felt sad that I could not send it in the post to the late John Berger.  He, too, would have loved it and found great joy in its honesty, its agility, its beauty, its invention.  Baume is a writer of outstanding grace and style.  She writes beyond the time we live in."—Colum McCann
“After a remarkable and deservedly award-winning debut, here is a novel of uniqueness, wonder, recognition, poignancy, truth-speaking, quiet power, strange beauty and luminous bedazzlement. Once again, I’ve been Baumed."—Joseph O’Connor
“Unflinching, at times uncomfortable, and always utterly compelling, A Line Made By Walking is among the best accounts of grief, loneliness and depression that I have ever read.  Every word of it rings true, the truth of hard-won knowledge wrested from the abyss.  Shot through with a wild, yearning melancholy, it is nevertheless mordantly witty.  It felt, to me, kindred to Olivia Laing’s The Lonely City: not just on a superficial level, a young woman seeking solace in art, but in the urgent depth of its quest to understand and articulate what it means to make art, and what art might mean for the individual, lost and lonely; how it might bring us out of, or back to, ourselves.”—Lucy Caldwell
“Baume writes lovely prose about unimaginable pain. A clear-eyed, beautiful rendering of a woman struggling against despair.”Kirkus Reviews

"When I finished Sara Baume's new novel I immediately felt sad that I could not send it in the post to the late John Berger.  He, too, would have loved it and found great joy in its honesty, its agility, its beauty, its invention.  Baume is a writer of outstanding grace and style.  She writes beyond the time we live in."—Colum McCann
“After a remarkable and deservedly award-winning debut, here is a novel of uniqueness, wonder, recognition, poignancy, truth-speaking, quiet power, strange beauty and luminous bedazzlement. Once again, I’ve been Baumed."—Joseph O’Connor
“Baume writes lovely prose about unimaginable pain. A clear-eyed, beautiful rendering of a woman struggling against despair.”Kirkus Reviews

"When I finished Sara Baume's new novel I immediately felt sad that I could not send it in the post to the late John Berger.  He, too, would have loved it and found great joy in its honesty, its agility, its beauty, its invention.  Baume is a writer of outstanding grace and style.  She writes beyond the time we live in."—Colum McCann
“After a remarkable and deservedly award-winning debut, here is a novel of uniqueness, wonder, recognition, poignancy, truth-speaking, quiet power, strange beauty and luminous bedazzlement. Once again, I’ve been Baumed." Joseph O’Connor

"When I finished Sara Baume's new novel I immediately felt sad that I could not send it in the post to the late John Berger.  He, too, would have loved it and found great joy in its honesty, its agility, its beauty, its invention.  Baume is a writer of outstanding grace and style.  She writes beyond the time we live in."—Colum McCann
“After a remarkable and deservedly award-winning debut, here is a novel of uniqueness, wonder, recognition, poignancy, truth-speaking, quiet power, strange beauty and luminous bedazzlement. Once again, I’ve been Baumed."—Joseph O’Connor
“Unflinching, at times uncomfortable, and always utterly compelling, A Line Made By Walking is among the best accounts of grief, loneliness and depression that I have ever read.  Every word of it rings true, the truth of hard-won knowledge wrested from the abyss.  Shot through with a wild, yearning melancholy, it is nevertheless mordantly witty.  It felt, to me, kindred to Olivia Laing’s The Lonely City: not just on a superficial level, a young woman seeking solace in art, but in the urgent depth of its quest to understand and articulate what it means to make art, and what art might mean for the individual, lost and lonely; how it might bring us out of, or back to, ourselves.”—Lucy Caldwell
“Fascinating, because of the cumulative power of the precise, pleasingly rhythmic sentences, and the unpredictable intelligence of the narrator’s mind. . . [In A Line Made By Walking] there is a reminder of the beauty that can be found when you allow yourself to look slowly and sadly at the world.”—The Guardian
“Baume writes lovely prose about unimaginable pain. A clear-eyed, beautiful rendering of a woman struggling against despair.”Kirkus Reviews
"Fans of Colum McCann and Richard Russo will adore this masterful and meditative novel that doesn’t emphasize plot over atmosphere."Booklist, starred review
 “A spellbinding meditation on art and life.”The Bookseller
“Original and affecting.... Baume has taken a subject typically treated with scorn, the quarter-life crisis, and produced a portrait both particular...and instantly recognizable.”—The Observer

“With captivating writing, a vivid rural landscape and frequent references to famous works of art, Baume creates a layered experience that leaves the reader nurtured and restored. For artists and lovers of art, this will be an extra-special treat.”BookPage
“Baume leaves nothing unturned in this dark and sometimes funny excavation of the human heart, life’s fragility and the quest for sanity in a sometimes insane world.”—Kerri Arsenault, Minneapolis Star-Tribune
“This moving novel about mental health is a remarkable read for anyone who has ever felt lost.”Real Simple, “The Best New Books to Read this Month”
"When I finished Sara Baume's new novel I immediately felt sad that I could not send it in the post to the late John Berger.  He, too, would have loved it and found great joy in its honesty, its agility, its beauty, its invention.  Baume is a writer of outstanding grace and style.  She writes beyond the time we live in."—Colum McCann
“After a remarkable and deservedly award-winning debut, here is a novel of uniqueness, wonder, recognition, poignancy, truth-speaking, quiet power, strange beauty and luminous bedazzlement. Once again, I’ve been Baumed."—Joseph O’Connor
“Unflinching, at times uncomfortable, and always utterly compelling, A Line Made By Walking is among the best accounts of grief, loneliness and depression that I have ever read.  Every word of it rings true, the truth of hard-won knowledge wrested from the abyss.  Shot through with a wild, yearning melancholy, it is nevertheless mordantly witty.  It felt, to me, kindred to Olivia Laing’s The Lonely City: not just on a superficial level, a young woman seeking solace in art, but in the urgent depth of its quest to understand and articulate what it means to make art, and what art might mean for the individual, lost and lonely; how it might bring us out of, or back to, ourselves.”—Lucy Caldwell
“Fascinating, because of the cumulative power of the precise, pleasingly rhythmic sentences, and the unpredictable intelligence of the narrator’s mind. . . [In A Line Made By Walking] there is a reminder of the beauty that can be found when you allow yourself to look slowly and sadly at the world.”—The Guardian
“Baume writes lovely prose about unimaginable pain. A clear-eyed, beautiful rendering of a woman struggling against despair.”Kirkus Reviews
"Fans of Colum McCann and Richard Russo will adore this masterful and meditative novel that doesn’t emphasize plot over atmosphere."Booklist, starred review
 “A spellbinding meditation on art and life.”The Bookseller
“Original and affecting.... Baume has taken a subject typically treated with scorn, the quarter-life crisis, and produced a portrait both particular...and instantly recognizable.”—The Observer
“Gorgeous writing . . . Comparable to the work of literary writers such as Anne Enright.”Library Journal
"With captivating writing, a vivid rural landscape and frequent references to famous works of art, Baume creates a layered experience that leaves the reader nurtured and restored. For artists and lovers of art, this will be an extra-special treat."BookPage